Live TV issue
OK, firstly, I have posted this here as I think it is an issue with the Linux build rather than an actual TV/PVR issue. Secondly, I am a complete Linux newbie, but if I don't understand an answer if I have to dive into CLI then I will go and research that before asking more questions.

I have just got myself an Intel NUC (I3 version) and decided on an XBMCbuntu build for it, it is obviously cheaper than getting a legit copy of windows, I reckon it is snappier to use and it is about time I learned a bit about Linux. So I downloaded the most current XBMCbuntu stable release.

The install went pretty flawlessly and XBMC pretty much worked straight out of the box, all I had to do was set up my network shares and change an audio setting.

Where I have run into trouble is with the PVR function, when I first started watcing a live TV stream it very obviously needed deinterlacing switched on, so I did that. Unfortunately once I did I now when I try to watch live TV I get a couple of moments of black screen and then XBMC recycles and I end up back at the initial GUI as though I have cold booted it into XBMC. If I set it recording I can watch the recorded stream without an issue and using the same deinterlacing settings.

I am at work and have only just thought of it, but seeing it is a live TV only issue, can I set deinterlacing off on the recorded view and select the option to apply that to all videos? Will that actually apply it to the live TV view? If not, I am hoping to avoid a full reinstall but can do that if I have to, the box is still in the experimental/test stage as the room it is going in will not be painted for another week so I can mount the TV the new box is for and start using it permanently.
Follow that thread: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=165707

Also read the point about how to disable RC6.
First decide what functions / features you expect from a system. Then decide for the hardware. Don't waste your money on crap.