Noob here w/ probable Noob problem, but Wiki doesn't seem to help.
Just built my first HTPC (AMD A6-5400K, Asrock FM2A88M-HD+, Win7 Ultimate SP1) The PC isn't clocked, all settings stock. Connects to a LAN I've been running for years with both WinXP SP2 and Win7 Ultimate machines all set to share files. The server for my video files is accessed near daily by other machines for storing and retrieving files (AMD FX4300, Asrock 980DE3/U3S3, Win7 Ultimate SP1). It contains multiple movie and TV Series directories and serves a 1Gbps LAN.

Up until I built the HTPC, the only LAN file access I'd used was Windows Explorer and it works great. I verified it was working properly on the HTPC before moving it to the home theater. In the theater, the HTPC connects to LAN via paired 200Mbps powerline adapters (TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT) fed directly from a FIOS router port. Picture/sound feed is HDMI to a Pioneer SC-63 receiver. Following connection I verified the HTPC had normal LAN/internet access and could play a movie from the server using Windows Explorer and VLC. I found my new Rosewill remote unable to adequately control Windows and VLC, so I tried Windows Media Center. The remote worked and WMC found my server directories (could playback files), but I don't like the program.

Looked around, learned of XBMC, downloaded Frodo 12.2 version and installed it. Remote is compatible, but it couldn't find any LAN based directories. TV is plasma, didn't want picture memory complications, so moved the HTPC back upstairs with a direct 1Gbps LAN connection and it's now KVM switch sharing with the server (which I'm typing on). Following the move, XBMC still couldn't find my LAN based directories. I learned of the new 12.3 build, removed 12.2, downloaded and installed 12.3, no change. (Note, I then installed MediaPortal and have a problem there too, but it does find the LAN directories fine.)