Work in Progress - 3dLUT support

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
sebj Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
I was really excited too!

Is this to much of a niche feature?

Unofficial addon in openelec maybe?
find quote
oo_void Offline
Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #17
I'd use it ... It's just as much of a niche feature as XBMC Boblight, another of my favorites.
find quote
maiong Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Hi,
i read this and find it absolutely hot! This time i use a program named "dipcalGUI". And this wonderful program contains all we need inside XBMC. I can't write code and so on, but i think, use such a program is better than make a new one. Is this correct?

MR
find quote
lmyllari Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 38
Location: Sunny California
Post: #19
Sorry for the radio silence. I got unsubscribed from this thread, and haven't had time to work on this. I now have a laptop set up with dispcalGUI/madVR/HCFR so I can create and measure profiles and make sure this produces accurate results.

I will be updating the code to Helix and fixing it based on the earlier review as soon as possible.
find quote
Mr Hipp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Hi
I did I quick check and I don't think it is too much work adapting it to windows. But If you don't mind I have a question (maybe stupid)
If you desktop is loaded with a calibrated profile. Why do you need to load another profile when running Kodi. Is there a difference in calibration?
Why not use the normal profile?
find quote
lmyllari Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 38
Location: Sunny California
Post: #21
(2015-01-04 17:51)Mr Hipp Wrote:  If you desktop is loaded with a calibrated profile. Why do you need to load another profile when running Kodi. Is there a difference in calibration?
Why not use the normal profile?
Three reasons:
- I was originally going to support only device link profiles, but later figured out how to do the linking too
- My GPU gamma curves have only 8bit precision, so I thought I'd rather do all the processing myself
- I'm using OpenELEC, so integration with the desktop or other applications is not necessary
find quote
oo_void Offline
Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #22
(2015-01-04 17:51)Mr Hipp Wrote:  If you desktop is loaded with a calibrated profile. Why do you need to load another profile when running Kodi. Is there a difference in calibration?
Why not use the normal profile?

Linux users typically don't have a desktop GUI running.
find quote
splendid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #23
Very interested in the development of this and just wanted to voice my support FWIW!
find quote
johnsanc Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Any further updates on this? What about Windows support? This feature would be incredible if MadVR isn't supported.
find quote
lmyllari Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 38
Location: Sunny California
Post: #25
I am currently working on HDMI deep color output. I'd like to avoid dithering to 8 bits and output 12 bits per channel instead.

Intel gpus have high precision gamma tables that I would like to use for the calibration.

I have 12bpc deep color output working with patched Haswell Linux drivers, but I'm guessing the legacy palette is limiting the precision to 8bpc. I have a patch to use the high resolution gamma table but haven't had a chance to test yet.
find quote
sebj Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
(2015-02-13 18:23)lmyllari Wrote:  I am currently working on HDMI deep color output. I'd like to avoid dithering to 8 bits and output 12 bits per channel instead.

Intel gpus have high precision gamma tables that I would like to use for the calibration.

I have 12bpc deep color output working with patched Haswell Linux drivers, but I'm guessing the legacy palette is limiting the precision to 8bpc. I have a patch to use the high resolution gamma table but haven't had a chance to test yet.

Very very interesting.

Is this solely in the intel IGP domain or could this happen on the nvidia side?
find quote
lmyllari Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 38
Location: Sunny California
Post: #27
I am not sure what the nvidia drivers are capable of. They should do at least 30bpp framebuffer but I don't know about the output or gamma tables.

I don't have any nvidia hardware. Is there anything similar to the Chromebox/NUCs with nvidia?
find quote
sebj Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
(2015-02-16 06:28)lmyllari Wrote:  I am not sure what the nvidia drivers are capable of. They should do at least 30bpp framebuffer but I don't know about the output or gamma tables.

I don't have any nvidia hardware. Is there anything similar to the Chromebox/NUCs with nvidia?

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product...id=5096#ov

But that's not going to cut it. They seem to leave that out for the quadros

http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/d...JmbQ%3D%3D

Can the IGP really output 10bit or are we talking about playing back 10bit material with hardware accelerated decode?
find quote
raidflex Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #29
Any updates on this? Really looking forward to be able to calibrate my openelec systems.
find quote
sat4all Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Casablanca, Morocco
Post: #30
any progress? can't wait to try it out wih my OE setupCool

cheers

Intel NUC D54250WYK: Win 10 + Kodi Krypton + MPC-HC (madvr,lav,sanear,xysub)
LG OLED 65EF950v / Denon AVR-X3200W / KEF E305 / Synology DS2415+ / Vu+ SOLO2
Ruling them all with a Logitech Harmony 950 Remote
find quote
Post Reply