Win Strange issue with XBMC and Synology NAS --> SOLVED!!
Exclamation 
Hi all,

I have been using XBMC (ups, I meant Kodi) for many years, but I pretty new when it comes to the NAS thing… (actually, I am using my Synology DS213j for only a couple of weeks).

Here is the thing: when I did the first set up, I started using the default “admin” user of the NAS. I created a couple of shared folders with some films and TV shows episodes. Then I turned on the SMB protocol in the NAS system.
Then I went to XBMC (running under Windows 7 in the HTPC placed in my living room) to set up a new “video source” pointing to the shared folders I created in the NAS. I was prompted to write an username and password (so I did) and a 25 seconds later, I was watching some TV shows with no problem at all… Cool and easier than I expected…

But yesterday, after reading this tutorial from Synology (https://www.synology.com/en-us/knowledge...orials/615) to increase the security in the NAS, and following the advices from some folks in the Synology forums, I decided to disable the default “admin” account and replace it with a custom one with the same privileges than the default “admin” one.

I assumed that, due to the change of username and password, the “video source” that I created in the HTPC was going to need an update… and I was right: I could not access to the content in the NAS so I tried to edit the source.
But although I was able to “see” the NAS in the browser, I could not access to its folders… I was not even prompted to input the new username and password…

So I decided to delete this video source and create a new one… again, I was able to find the NAS listed in the browser, but unable to enter in its folders… and I was NOT asked to enter username & password neither…