Win Helix RC 3 - install malfunction (direct x error)
Exclamation 
I am a pc tech of 20 years.

LOVE KODI!

I place Kodi on an average of 5 machines per week... all various models.

Machine Specs where Kodi RC 3 failed:

HP 8000 Elite Pro
Intel Core2 Duo 3.0 GHz (e8400 CPU)
WD Velociraptor 10,000 rpm Hard Drive
2 GB DDR3 HP approved RAM
Win 7 Pro x64

Description of Problem

I already tested RC 2 on this model of system without any errors
Today, I took a clean system and tried to install RC 3
After most of the install completed, I get an error window
This window claims that Direct X did not install properly, to go find it on the MS web site
I next uninstalled RC 3
I then installed RC 2 and everything worked fine.

THIS IS A SERIOUS BUG[/size] and THE BUG LOG is not engaged

Thanks

Robert
Personally, I always unselect the DirectX and VisualC runtime update options in the windows installer. I did see that Kodi/Helix needs a newer version (2013) of the VC++ runtime than I had installed on Win 7, but I don't think there ever was a problem with DirectX on Win 7 or newer. The installer just runs dxsetup.exe and I think all it really needs is d3dx9_43.dll on your system SYSWOW64 and you're good. In fact now that support for Win XP is dropped I wonder if that is even needed in the installer?

scott s.
Thanks for the fast attention to my post. ---- And yes, I did see a message asking for d3dx9_43.dll But in my case, I am using Win 7 x64... not XP...not 32 bit Win 7... and this does NOT happen on Kodi RC 2 (on the very same system.) Core2 Duo running Win 7 x64 is very common machine and comprises a majority of users. I have no idea how to report this to the main crew, other than this forum. Any suggestions?
I have add the same issue, tried installing Helix RC3 on Windows 8.1. Got error saying "DirectX" install failed and then Kodi won't run as complains about the above missing DLL. Not found a fix yet and I don't have RC2 to try.