Automatically launch VPNs when different addons are opened

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
M32134c╘ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #46
Thing is im not switch temporarily to the gui while watching video. Im saying if i access an add-on from home-screen short cut it connects just fine but once i exit the add on and vpn stays connected im not playing any videos.
sometimes it wont connect at all from shortcut it seems to have issues when accessing plug-in from homescreen short cut.

But yea no rush when you get chance if you don't mind adding that setting it would be great maybe it will help with this problem also?


Also thanks for making this add on.
(This post was last modified: 2015-07-25 22:00 by M32134c╘.)
find quote
sam_nj Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #47
Is there a recommended VPN and one that is known to work with Kodi on a Matricom GBox Q?
find quote
Alth79 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #48
I'm having the same issue M32134c - love the addon and would be lost without it but if this little issue could be looked at that would be great!

Cheers again for making this!
find quote
marv_el Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Vienna, Austria
Post: #49
already done some changes, will make some tests.
i hope to get it done the next days
find quote
marv_el Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 8
Location: Vienna, Austria
Post: #50
ok, made some changes but couldn't test it intensively, because i don't use a vpn anymore.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wsvb182eyc92fy...1.zip?dl=0

i renamed the addon because for other ppl the old one still works, so i don't want to overwrite the existing one. pls deactivate the other one and set up this one.
find quote
markcs Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #51
Hi marv_el

Great addon. Thanks so much.
(This post was last modified: 2016-02-05 13:16 by markcs.)
find quote
Concestly Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #52
Should I buy a Matricom G box Q?
find quote
B3NJAMIN Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Tapatalk User
Post: #53
thanks for this, very handy Smile
find quote
bradhaddin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #54
To access Geo restricted content when I searched for Kodi VPN I found Ivacy which provides best vpn for kodi it is good and easy to access Geo restricted content in high security. It also provides complete guide about .how to setup Kodi for OpenELEC
find quote
tiffanyfrancis77 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #55
(2015-07-31 19:11)sam_nj Wrote:  Is there a recommended VPN and one that is known to work with Kodi on a Matricom GBox Q?

I got PureVPN (https://www.purevpn.com/) working with Kodi.
find quote
bughead Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #56
tiffany and brad, I use PIA as vpn. But when I go to OpebElec, I see PIA but get an error message. How did you enter your info? I have a Matricom Q
find quote
bsweet0us Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #57
(2015-08-05 21:20)marv_el Wrote:  ok, made some changes but couldn't test it intensively, because i don't use a vpn anymore.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wsvb182eyc92fy...1.zip?dl=0

i renamed the addon because for other ppl the old one still works, so i don't want to overwrite the existing one. pls deactivate the other one and set up this one.

I hate to dig up this old thread, but I was wondering if I could get some help with the add-on in the Krypton version of Kodi. I have installed it and pointed the add-on to the BAT file to open my VPN connection when the appropriate folder is accessed and also to the BAT file to disconnect when leaving the folder. I can see the CMD prompts flashing, but the connection is not being made.

Testing the BAT files outside of Kodi launches and connects the VPN along with closing and disconnecting the service.

Any suggestions?
find quote
Karellen Online
Super Moderator
Posts: 2,527
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 45
Post: #58
Hello bsweet0us,

Unfortunately, we provide no support for VPN's. Kodi does not require a VPN to operate, so it's use is seen as a modification which is beyond the scope of this forum.

As you are probably paying good money for the VPN service, you should contact their help desk for assistance.

I will be moving this thread to Off-Topic.

My Signature
Links to : Forum Rules | Banned Add-Ons | Free Movies/TV Shows | Debug Log |


find quote
bubblegum57 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #59
(2017-08-06 05:42)bsweet0us Wrote:  
(2015-08-05 21:20)marv_el Wrote:  ok, made some changes but couldn't test it intensively, because i don't use a vpn anymore.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wsvb182eyc92fy...1.zip?dl=0

i renamed the addon because for other ppl the old one still works, so i don't want to overwrite the existing one. pls deactivate the other one and set up this one.

I hate to dig up this old thread, but I was wondering if I could get some help with the add-on in the Krypton version of Kodi. I have installed it and pointed the add-on to the BAT file to open my VPN connection when the appropriate folder is accessed and also to the BAT file to disconnect when leaving the folder. I can see the CMD prompts flashing, but the connection is not being made.

Testing the BAT files outside of Kodi launches and connects the VPN along with closing and disconnecting the service.

Any suggestions?

There is a vpn manager addon from Zomboided
find quote
Post Reply