Release - New plugin "iPlayer WWW"

  Thread Rating:
  • 8 Vote(s) - 4.13 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
CaptainT Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 34
Post: #1486
(2017-08-18 19:42)stammie Wrote:  Its not just you, I've been "lucky" too and my highlights are broken, however as a short term workaround channel highlights still work as do categories and for the things I've tried the A-Z listings.
Same here, it is really just Higlights, so basically the main iPlayer website.
Quote:Here's hoping one day the BBC will share their API with license fee payers so that CaptainT and Primaeval or anyone else with the capabilities can make a Kodi addon for Iplayer without having to hack around their website or second guess the BBC's intentions!
They definitely won't do that and that is for a simple reason: The add-on is distributed in source code. This means that everybody else would be able to see the API calls and use them as well.

So as much as I would like them to open their API, I fully understand why they won't.
find quote
scatat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1487
Hi all - I have a bizarre problem. I have been happily using Krypton and the iplayer plugin for some time - months.

However, a few days ago, I was unable to watch content. I have updated the plugin to version 3.0.14, restarted the machine. Programmes now start to play - I can get audio, but no video! Odd.

When I view logs, there seems to be a 404 - nothing major. I am in the UK - no VPN or anything. What's going on? I am happy to try anything but I have no way of knowing where to start to fix this.

Here is a log excerpt:

Code:
12:43:12.054 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: Creating InputStream
12:43:12.231 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: Creating Demuxer
12:43:12.231 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: Opening stream: 2 source: 256
12:43:12.312 T:140717758347008   ERROR: CCurlFile::Open failed with code 404 for http://vod-dash-uk-live.akamaized.net/usp/auth/vod/piff_abr_full_hd/611b24-b07xt5m7/vf_b07xt5m7_58c54840-ae1f-4ceb-84b1-455757e1388f.ism.hlsv2.ism/dash/vf_b07xt5m7_58c54840-ae1f-4ceb-84b1-455757e1388f.ism.hlsv2-$RepresentationID$.dash|Connection=keep-alive&acceptencoding=gzip%2c%20deflate&seekable=0
12:43:12.312 T:140717758347008   ERROR: AddOnLog: InputStream Adaptive: Download http://vod-dash-uk-live.akamaized.net/usp/auth/vod/piff_abr_full_hd/611b24-b07xt5m7/vf_b07xt5m7_58c54840-ae1f-4ceb-84b1-455757e1388f.ism.hlsv2.ism/dash/vf_b07xt5m7_58c54840-ae1f-4ceb-84b1-455757e1388f.ism.hlsv2-$RepresentationID$.dash doesn't provide any data: invalid
12:43:12.312 T:140717758347008   ERROR: AddOnLog: InputStream Adaptive: Unable to select stream!
12:43:12.312 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: Creating video codec with codec id: 28
12:43:12.312 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: CDVDVideoCodecFFmpeg::Open() Using codec: H.264 / AVC / MPEG-4 AVC / MPEG-4 part 10
12:43:12.312 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: Creating video thread
12:43:12.312 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: Opening stream: 1 source: 256
12:43:12.312 T:140717515151104  NOTICE: running thread: video_thread
12:43:12.348 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: Finding audio codec for: 86018
12:43:12.349 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: Creating audio thread
12:43:12.349 T:140717506758400  NOTICE: running thread: CVideoPlayerAudio::Process()
12:43:12.397 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: Opening stream: 2 source: 256
12:43:12.414 T:140717758347008   ERROR: CCurlFile::Open failed with code 404 for http://vod-dash-uk-live.akamaized.net/usp/auth/vod/piff_abr_full_hd/611b24-b07xt5m7/vf_b07xt5m7_58c54840-ae1f-4ceb-84b1-455757e1388f.ism.hlsv2.ism/dash/vf_b07xt5m7_58c54840-ae1f-4ceb-84b1-455757e1388f.ism.hlsv2-$RepresentationID$.dash|Connection=keep-alive&acceptencoding=gzip%2c%20deflate&seekable=0
12:43:12.414 T:140717758347008   ERROR: AddOnLog: InputStream Adaptive: Download http://vod-dash-uk-live.akamaized.net/usp/auth/vod/piff_abr_full_hd/611b24-b07xt5m7/vf_b07xt5m7_58c54840-ae1f-4ceb-84b1-455757e1388f.ism.hlsv2.ism/dash/vf_b07xt5m7_58c54840-ae1f-4ceb-84b1-455757e1388f.ism.hlsv2-$RepresentationID$.dash doesn't provide any data: invalid
12:43:12.414 T:140717758347008   ERROR: AddOnLog: InputStream Adaptive: Unable to select stream!
12:43:12.414 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: Opening stream: 1 source: 256
12:43:12.414 T:140717758347008  NOTICE: Finding audio codec for: 86018
12:43:12.422 T:140717506758400  NOTICE: Creating audio stream (codec id: 86018, channels: 2, sample rate: 48000, no pass-through)
find quote
peak3d Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 8
Post: #1488
@scatat this issue should be already fixed in the latest Krypton builds / inputstream.adaptive version (Krypton branch)
Maybe you want to try one of the latest Krypton nightly builds.
find quote
primaeval Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,878
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 188
Post: #1489
@scatat If you can't try peak3d's suggestion the HLS streams should work instead of the DASH ones. They use the same video source but take a little bit longer to start.
find quote
nickschurch Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1490
I'm having a weird error with iPlayer WWW. All was well until a few days ago, but now when I try to watch a stream I get the message "BBC iPlayer TV programmes are available to play int he UK only.". Now, I know I'm in Scotland, but really, its still the UK!

iPlayer plays fine through web-browser on the computers ont he same web connection,

No VPN used, Origin Broadband, IOpenelev 6.0.3, Kodi 15.2, iPlayer WWW 2.5.22, RPi 1.

Any help greatly appreciated.
find quote
primaeval Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,878
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 188
Post: #1491
(2017-08-20 23:29)nickschurch Wrote:  I'm having a weird error with iPlayer WWW. All was well until a few days ago, but now when I try to watch a stream I get the message "BBC iPlayer TV programmes are available to play int he UK only.". Now, I know I'm in Scotland, but really, its still the UK!

iPlayer plays fine through web-browser on the computers ont he same web connection,

No VPN used, Origin Broadband, IOpenelev 6.0.3, Kodi 15.2, iPlayer WWW 2.5.22, RPi 1.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Kodi 15.2 is your problem. Even Jarvis can't access most of the https urls that iPlayerWWW uses to find the streams.
You might possibly get away with turning https off in the Settings and picking one of the Providers that doesn't use https. Maybe Akamai.
It is time for an upgrade I expect.
find quote
TheAlbionJackal Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1492
Using Kodi Krypton 17.4 and NordVPN on a SmartTV here in Hong Kong. I get access to all programmes but the sound goes after a few seconds. Any ideas?
find quote
Streggi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Jun 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #1493
thanks for this plugin. I have a kodi box that my kids use, but I can't get the switch CBeebies/CBBC only mode to work? I assume I'm doing something silly - do I just need to click on the option and then press 'OK'?

Thanks in advance

[Image: Connected-InternetNewsAndDiscussion.gif]
find quote
primaeval Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,878
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 188
Post: #1494
(Yesterday 12:28)Streggi Wrote:  thanks for this plugin. I have a kodi box that my kids use, but I can't get the switch CBeebies/CBBC only mode to work? I assume I'm doing something silly - do I just need to click on the option and then press 'OK'?

Thanks in advance

You need to type in a password that your kids won't guess.
The first time sets it. The next times use it.
If you forget it just go to this file and delete the kids_password setting:
userdata\addon_data\plugin.video.iplayerwww\settings.xml
find quote
Streggi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Jun 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #1495
(Yesterday 12:33)primaeval Wrote:  
(Yesterday 12:28)Streggi Wrote:  thanks for this plugin. I have a kodi box that my kids use, but I can't get the switch CBeebies/CBBC only mode to work? I assume I'm doing something silly - do I just need to click on the option and then press 'OK'?

Thanks in advance

You need to type in a password that your kids won't guess.
The first time sets it. The next times use it.
If you forget it just go to this file and delete the kids_password setting:
userdata\addon_data\plugin.video.iplayerwww\settings.xml
I just went in to try and follow your advice and it was already in cbeebies mode - maybe you need to exit to apply changes.

Thanks anyway

[Image: Connected-InternetNewsAndDiscussion.gif]
find quote
primaeval Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,878
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 188
Post: #1496
(Yesterday 13:15)Streggi Wrote:  
(Yesterday 12:33)primaeval Wrote:  
(Yesterday 12:28)Streggi Wrote:  thanks for this plugin. I have a kodi box that my kids use, but I can't get the switch CBeebies/CBBC only mode to work? I assume I'm doing something silly - do I just need to click on the option and then press 'OK'?

Thanks in advance

You need to type in a password that your kids won't guess.
The first time sets it. The next times use it.
If you forget it just go to this file and delete the kids_password setting:
userdata\addon_data\plugin.video.iplayerwww\settings.xml
I just went in to try and follow your advice and it was already in cbeebies mode - maybe you need to exit to apply changes.

Thanks anyway

If you want to get out of Kids Mode just enter the password in the first dialog then nothing in the next one.
If you've forgotten it you'll have to edit or delete the settings.xml file I mentioned.
I expect you will have to back out to the Video Addons folder before the top level index gets refreshed.
find quote
Post Reply