Release - YouTube Plug-in Thread

  Thread Rating:
  • 10 Vote(s) - 4.6 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
sherl0k Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2371
(2016-11-23 13:34)robo989 Wrote:  Really good work continuing here, thanks for the support and releases...

I do have a little question if I may though.
Using all the recent addons with DASH, with Kodi set to switch to resolution/refresh rate to match video obviously there is a few seconds of blank screen when the display device changes which can't be avoided.

But I'm noticing a few seconds after this another blanking of the screen for a few seconds before the video then continues to play.
I'm assuming this (and from looking at the video stream info it confirms it) is changing streams to match bandwidth of connection.

Would it be possible to have it so the bandwidth is not "tested" every time a video is played as inevitably we are talking about 10-12 seconds from selecting a video to where it is actually playing properly. There is also a few seconds of silence after that change of resolution where sound is muted as the audio system establishes a new handshake etc too.

Not complaining here by any stretch so I do hope it doesn't sound like that but maybe there's a way to avoid this situation as on the 2nd video change there's no possibility to pause the video to allow it to carry on where the change took place,

Thanks again for the great work.

I had this problem for weeks, annoying as hell. I fixed it by using true fullscreen, not borderless windowed fullscreen.
find quote
peak3d Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 7
Post: #2372
(2017-05-21 01:59)r0ck0 Wrote:  Is there a fix for the double refresh rate change when inputstream.adaptive is enabled?

Is in the pipeline, but will be only K18+
find quote
techch3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #2373
I watch Yotube on my Smart TV with 16.1 Version Kodi.

I have a problem to set the subtitle for youtube. In the setting , I found subtitle download has options: English, Promote, Setting English , and ALL. What's the meaning of each option? If I want to shaow the English subtitle by Youtube auto translate, What should I do?
find quote
jdf76 Offline
Donor
Posts: 707
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Maryland USA
Post: #2374
(2017-05-25 11:09)techch3 Wrote:  I watch Yotube on my Smart TV with 16.1 Version Kodi.

I have a problem to set the subtitle for youtube. In the setting , I found subtitle download has options: English, Promote, Setting English , and ALL. What's the meaning of each option? If I want to shaow the English subtitle by Youtube auto translate, What should I do?

I don't think there is a way to have auto-translate, but i don't program it.

Jeff
find quote
Silm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #2375
Hi,

I installed the YouTube plugin on Kodi 17.2 (Raspberry Pi 2, xbian fully up to date).

I followed the assistant, and configured as best as I could (20 s caching, no fan art)

I can watch only a few videos before the addon crashes the Rapsberry Pi 2, then there is nothing to do except removing power and pluging power again.

This also happens when I'm browsing a list of videos. Sometimes, it will crash.

Is this a known problem ? Is there a fix ? Why does the crashing of the plugin results in the crashing of the whole system, and can it not be contained to the plugin itself ?

NB: I have a very good fiber Internet connection and can watch 4K YouTube videos without problems on my PC with Chrome or .Vivaldi.

Thanks,
Sil
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-26 19:58 by Silm.)
find quote
sssscary Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #2376
I am on kodi 17.3 on windows and have been using the youtube plug in for quite awhile with no issues. Now if I play any hd videos, they stop after a few seconds and start buffering and often don't start back up. Same videos play fine through browser. Anyone have any suggestions? I updated the plugin to latest.
find quote
sssscary Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #2377
(2017-05-29 14:54)sssscary Wrote:  I am on kodi 17.3 on windows and have been using the youtube plug in for quite awhile with no issues. Now if I play any hd videos, they stop after a few seconds and start buffering and often don't start back up. Same videos play fine through browser. Anyone have any suggestions? I updated the plugin to latest.

I just tried the alpha posted earlier, seems to have fixed my problem
find quote
compy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #2378
Hello,

is .13 official now ? i see some changes 6 days ago to make .13 official but i dont see it in download section.
find quote
jdf76 Offline
Donor
Posts: 707
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Maryland USA
Post: #2379
I've pushed 5.3.13 to the local repository. Also note i removed my name as an author because i don't contribute to the code.
find quote
axlt2002 Offline
Fan
Posts: 447
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 6
Location: Turin (Italy)
Post: #2380
Thanks jdf76! Is there a link to the .zip? The first post seems not updated...

Light IMDb Ratings Update - Keep updated the IMDb ratings for your Movies and TV Shows.
In case you found useful my work, feel free to offer me a cappuccino!
find quote
jdf76 Offline
Donor
Posts: 707
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Maryland USA
Post: #2381
I updated the first page but https://github.com/jdf76/plugin.video.yo...tag/5.3.13

Jeff
find quote
lordzerg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Bulgaria
Post: #2382
I have some cryptography python error I use ubuntu 16.04 LTS kodi 17.1 python 2.7.12 cryptography 1.2.1 , addon = YouTube (5.3.13~alpha6)

Log here https://pastebin.com/hVEynGxk

EDIT : I need to update my kodi to 17.3 I will come back after I test again

EDIT: after I updated kodi to 17.3 I have new error old errors from the log are no more
now there is only 1 error :

19:55:56.340 T:139717685950208 ERROR: /mnt/home/profile/.kodi/addons/script.module.requests/lib/requests/packages/urllib3/connectionpool.py:843: InsecureRequestWarning: Unverified HTTPS request is being made. Adding certificate verification is strongly advised. See: https://urllib3.readthedocs.io/en/latest...l-warnings
InsecureRequestWarning)

EDIT again when I updated Kodi I forgot to add API details and login and after I made all necessary things I received the same errors from the log I provided in the first place... there is something wrong with python or cryptography I don't know I have on my Windows PC Kodi 17.3 with youtube plugin working without any problems but on Linux is not working for me from a very long time maybe since version 5.3.8 Sad
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-30 19:59 by lordzerg.)
find quote
Fludizz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #2383
I am running into the same problem with plugin version 5.3.13... The cryptography error is not in raised by the Youtube plugin itself as can be seen in the path - it is raised by the Requests module. As I assumed it to have been caused by the outdated 6.x version of OpenELEC running on my mediacenter, I just updated it to version 8.0.3 hoping it would fix it (I assumed 6.x was using older SSL libraries than 8.x).

Unfortunately, this did not resolve the fault and it still raises below error:
Code:
ERROR: /storage/.kodi/addons/script.module.requests/lib/requests/packages/urllib3/connectionpool.py:843: InsecureRequestWarning: Unverified HTTPS request is being made. Adding certificate verification is strongly advised. See: https://urllib3.readthedocs.io/en/latest/advanced-usage.html#ssl-warnings

The plugin is working fine, if I send a youtube link directly it just starts playing as normal. I just cannot browse anything (e.g. my subscriptions) in the Youtube plugin due to this. Is there something funky going on with the way the Youtube plugin invokes the Requests module? Or is this a fault in the Requests plugin that has not shown up before?

(Note: I have not noticed it updating the youtube plugin, so I cannot tell if the issue started right after the update or if it was present before the update)

Using Kodi/OpenELEC on a Raspberry Pi3 rev1.2 with a Sony KDL-42W706B and an external audio receiver
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-30 19:53 by Fludizz.)
find quote
Smultie Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2384
My "My Subscriptions" is also showing blank data.
Not sure if it's related to the new update, but it looks like it is.
find quote
Fludizz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #2385
(2017-05-30 20:16)Smultie Wrote:  My "My Subscriptions" is also showing blank data.
Not sure if it's related to the new update, but it looks like it is.

If you check your Kodi log, you may be able to find out if it's caused by the same error Smile
Where your log is located depends on your system. OpenELEC has it here:
Code:
/storage/.kodi/temp/kodi.log

Using Kodi/OpenELEC on a Raspberry Pi3 rev1.2 with a Sony KDL-42W706B and an external audio receiver
find quote
Post Reply