Beginners Q
I have KODI installed on Amazon Fire TV (Default skin) v 16.1
Ethernet wired to a 55MB connection

2-part Q

It works – sometimes fine, but not very reliably… For example I go to a TV series and from the provider list for an episode … get a whole long list …
I click one and normal process is there is a pop up window … then the play icon in bottom left of screen and progress icon on bottom right.
Sometimes I watch one episode …. OK, select next .. OK
However if I stop or try ffwd often it will not play again … I can then go through maybe a dozen of more providers and while I select the provider the pop up opens and close straight away – none will play … even one that was just playing.
If I go to system & restart, then usually all then works OK …. But this is frequent occurrence.

I’m new to KODI so is this normal ?

2nd part - will Kodi automatically update itself, or advise of updates ? .......... or is this a manual process.
Sounds like you are using addons that break the forum rules. Please confirm after reading said rules.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
Slightly confused here - whole point of having KODI for me is to play TV series & films ......... I followed the many guides that said install KODI and installaddons
Nothing else changed.

I'm a beginner so I may have got it wrong ... if I uninstall installaddons will I still get to be able to watch what I need ?

I thought it was used just to populate the providers.
If I do remove it, how do I get to content ?

If there is a more suitable forum I should go to - please advise.
Kodi is a media player primarily designed to play local media (DVD rips stored on your hard drive for example). But it can do other stuff like streaming support and add-ons (plus other stuff of course).