v15 Failed to connect the MythTv backend with the known protocol versions.
I have been running Kodi/Openelec as a MythTV frontend since Jan 2016. Things have been running fine until I upgraded my MythTV backend/frontend machine from 14.04 to 16.04. Now my Kodi frontend complains it can't connect with the backend. "Failed to connect the MythTv backend with the known protocol versions."
I also had a problem that I couldn't connect to the Myth backend using Mythweb because of mysql/php issues, which I have since fixed. See:
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2342300
Also my frontend LIRC remote doesn't work, but I assume thats not related.

I've checked the Mythtv backend setup to make sure the security key is 0000 and the ports match Kodi.
The Kodi Mythtv add-on is 2.8.4 and the Update menu item is greyed out, so I assume I'm up to date.
Here is a copy of the log with debbuging enabled in both the add-on and Kodi.

http://pastebin.com/FUxDpzaw

Thanks for your help!
Kodi Mythtv addon (pvr.mythtv) is out of date you need version 2.8.5 to work with mythtv fixes/0.28.

Download to Raspberry Pi from http://janbar.github.io/pvr.mythtv/downl...mhf-15.zip

Copy it to .kodi/addons and unzip it, then restart Kodi.

This version will then be used instead of the version provided by OpenElec.

Mike
Should I uninstall the old one first?
There is no need to uninstall the old one. Kodi when it starts will load the pvr.mythtv addon from .kodi/addons/ if it exists, in preference from the normal install path, typically /usr/share/kodi/addons/.

If you ever need to update pvr.mythtv in .kodi/addons/ just use unzip -o <filename>. The -o just causes the unzip operation to overwrite what is already present. It is important to restart Kodi after the unzip operation. Kodi does have an "Install from zip option", do not use for pvr.mythtv it does not always work, hence the use of unzip.

Mike
Thanks for the info.