A federal court has ruled that an open-source license is an enforceable contract
https://qz.com/981029/a-federal-court-ha...-contract/

Sent from my SM-G935T
Image Lunatixz - Kodi / Beta repository
Image PseudoTV - Forum | Website | Youtube | Help?
Wow. That's pretty cool. It won't really mean much until the same decision has been held up in a court of appeals somewhere, but it's a definite first step.
Some time ago, if memory serves me correctly, there was a court case in Germany that found GPL copywrite was enforcable though i don't remember the details tbh.
Quick search yeilds this case as discussed on cnet and further analysed here.

However, in this instance the court case is in the USofA, which to many people means this is the be all and end all of the legal decision (dispite EU getting there first) Tongue
It's just another step along the road towards the GPL being universally considered enforcable in all jurisdiction which is a good thing Nod

Now i am no lawyer but i see the disctinction to the German case being that the defendant had the option of contacting the authors and negotiating another more suitable licence if they didn't like the GPL.
But these bad boys chose to simply take the code and not follow GPL or license in another way.
So unless the defendant appeals, the plantiff can now continue with their court case and sue the buggers.
It's the next legal steps that will be interesing.

I just wish the plantiff had asked for the defendant to comply with the GPL and release the source code as well as asking for punitive damages to deter others from acting in a similar way.
To me this would seem to be a better fit being it's GPL software, rather than plantiff saying pay $$ and you can keep your code to yourself...

In any case, this USofA decision could be a double edged sword if a "take it or leave it" click through agreement (used in commercial software) is also now considered to have the force of law.