Work in Progress - RetroPlayer UI Design | UI/UX Disussion | Help Needed

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
garbear Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 1,864
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 116
Location: city of angels
Post: #121
(2017-08-12 21:33)Rantanplan-1 Wrote:  if we now got id="11" this is gr8!

The great thing about core is I get to choose the IDs Smile

I've got your idea tested and working. I'll push the update to the RP.

BTC: 1JtXwJdGdE9YnYgThWBT2StFCU5sEYkbVD (personal), https://kodi.tv/contribute/donate-bitcoin (foundation). Donations in the form of controllers, especially ones that don't work in Kodi, are also appreciated.
find quote
Rantanplan-1 Offline
Fan
Posts: 700
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 9
Post: #122
:thumb: cool!
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-12 22:30 by Rantanplan-1.)
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 13,543
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 212
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #123
(2017-08-12 19:06)garbear Wrote:  Here's what it looks like with DialogSelect:

[Image: LZsR59E.png]

This is before I add the thumbs list. How do I hide literally every control in this skin file? Add a <visible> condition to every control? What about the DialogBackgruondCommons include, how can this not be included? If I use exactly 0% of the existing dialog, why would I even use the dialog and not create a new one?

By adding a window ID we (skins) can use to check that this is actually shader select just like songinformation for DialogMusicInfo.

So in DialogBackgroundCommons add a visible condition like this -

Code:
<visible>!Window.IsVisible(shaderselectdialog)</visible>
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-13 00:22 by Hitcher.)
find quote
pakhi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #124
(2017-05-29 03:08)Vel0cityX Wrote:  Introduction

Bit of an introduction:
I'm the Google Summer of Code student that will be developing shader support for RetroPlayer this summer, along with garbear which will mostly be doing the GUI work for it.

Current UI

Here's RetroPlayer's current state:

[Image: 25c06016-4327-11e7-9349-bfbd22b588fd.png]

As you can see, there are several parts of it that are unneccesary and some are more prevalent than needed.
Also, a lot of the things we need in there aren't present in the OSD.

UI Goals
(from here)

We need to have these options somewhere:
  • Save State
  • Load State
  • Load Savegame
  • Exit Game
  • Change Shader
  • Reset Game
  • Enable/disable Cheats
  • Netplay Settings
  • Controller Assignment (?)

Shader System

Description

Our plan is make use of the libretro shader system, to make use of the vast number of shaders and shader presets already developed for it.

This system is largerly based on these shader presets, or .cgp files.

Each one of this files specifies a certain amount of passes, and scaling/filtering parameters for each pass.

For example, a shader preset for the Game Boy might have different passes for dot-matrix, color conversion and ghosting effects.

(more detailed info on the spec itself here)

Challenges

RetroArch implements this spec and offers a UI for changing these parameters.

We will need to adapt this UI, to a 10-foot UI for Kodi.

We're currently trying to figure out how the Shaders OSD will work.
We were thinking about having two windows, a
  • Shader Browser: Used for selecting a .cgp file and a
  • Shader Editor: Used for adding/removing passes and maybe changing scaling/filtering parameters


Any feedback?

About the shader OSD, we either need to hash this 2-window idea out, or maybe brainstorm other ways of handling shader presets.
Ideas about the RetroPlayer's overall UI also welcome.

Please check it for ui ux design problem. I am sure it will be sort out.
https://github.com/garbear/xbmc-retroplayer
find quote
garbear Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 1,864
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 116
Location: city of angels
Post: #125
Here's the current status of the OSD

When you pause the game:

[Image: mFrLF2Z.png]



The Settings screen:

[Image: 5bvYpEN.png]



The Video Filter screen:

[Image: 8ir9B3r.png]



Video filters are AWESOME! But there's some bugs...

[Image: kiuRGME.png]

[Image: 2dyTuVr.png]

BTC: 1JtXwJdGdE9YnYgThWBT2StFCU5sEYkbVD (personal), https://kodi.tv/contribute/donate-bitcoin (foundation). Donations in the form of controllers, especially ones that don't work in Kodi, are also appreciated.
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-31 19:51 by garbear.)
find quote
garbear Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 1,864
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 116
Location: city of angels
Post: #126
Added a description field:

[Image: 29886315-805e9c7c-8d6e-11e7-89cc-4586eaed6582.png]

BTC: 1JtXwJdGdE9YnYgThWBT2StFCU5sEYkbVD (personal), https://kodi.tv/contribute/donate-bitcoin (foundation). Donations in the form of controllers, especially ones that don't work in Kodi, are also appreciated.
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-31 19:52 by garbear.)
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 13,543
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 212
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #127
Is this using the bookmark dialog?
find quote
garbear Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 1,864
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 116
Location: city of angels
Post: #128
No, it's using a file included by DialogSelect.xml

BTC: 1JtXwJdGdE9YnYgThWBT2StFCU5sEYkbVD (personal), https://kodi.tv/contribute/donate-bitcoin (foundation). Donations in the form of controllers, especially ones that don't work in Kodi, are also appreciated.
find quote
garbear Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 1,864
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 116
Location: city of angels
Post: #129
I'm planning on adding a "Volume" button to the OSD settings using DialogSlider.xml. The main point is to list the hotkey in the button's label2 or another control, so the user can access Volume control in-game. The hotkey is currently Select + Right Stick. Sound sensible?

BTC: 1JtXwJdGdE9YnYgThWBT2StFCU5sEYkbVD (personal), https://kodi.tv/contribute/donate-bitcoin (foundation). Donations in the form of controllers, especially ones that don't work in Kodi, are also appreciated.
find quote
garbear Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 1,864
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 116
Location: city of angels
Post: #130
Images of the result posted in PR12765

BTC: 1JtXwJdGdE9YnYgThWBT2StFCU5sEYkbVD (personal), https://kodi.tv/contribute/donate-bitcoin (foundation). Donations in the form of controllers, especially ones that don't work in Kodi, are also appreciated.
find quote
Jeroen Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,451
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 66
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #131
It would be great if the video filter and view mode windows could set ID1 to contain the window names (ID1 is the standard control to set the window name to). For example, see the "header_id" param in DialogSelect.xml.

Also, in the videoplayer pressing M/Menu will bring up the OSD, pressing M/Menu again will hide the OSD. With retroplayer, pressing M/Menu a second time will not hide the OSD, pressing ESC/Exit is needed to close it. For consistency and convenience this should be the same.

Another thing, the images for the various emulators in addon-browser, it would be great if these would adhere to some pseudo standard as currently it's a mixture of pretty much anything. Way back we came to this for add-ons in general, seems logical to use the same for emulators, I would be willing to do a PR for it.
(This post was last modified: 2017-09-14 07:38 by Jeroen.)
find quote
Post Reply