all of a sudden - audio out of sync and video jitters
This is making me crazy - any advice is appreciated.

I've been running KODI (XBMC) for quite some time now. I'm no expert because KODI has always just worked for me with minimal tweaking.

I'm running jarvis 16.1 / OpenElec 7.0.3 on ASUS Chromebox. I use a MySQL database on another PC to access an unRaid backend with my media. I have a few instances of KODI running on PCs around the house for my wife & kids.

Everything has been absolutely fine until one night about 2 or 3 weeks ago I went to watch one of my TV Shows on the ASUS box on my main TV and the audio is out of sync and the video is jumpy/jittery.

I have discovered I have to delay the audio by 1.5s to sync it up and the video looks like it was recorded on a bad VHS recorder.

So - I thought something wierd happened to my KODI settings but everything looked good. I restored from a backup I took in February when things were working properly and it didn't help.

I have another ASUS Chromebox that I was going to build KODI on for my son so I did. I did the build on another TV and everyting looked perfect. When I connect this box to my main TV the audio is out of sync and the video has the jitter issue.

From this I must conclude it is the TV itself. The TV on which I did the build is an older plasma. The TV with the problem is a fairly new (purchased in March) Insignia (Best Buy) LCD ROKU Smart TV. (probably smarter than me Wink)

As I said - it has worked perfectly since March but now something has happened to cause these issues. Perhaps an update was pushed down to the TV?

Does anyone have a clue? Maybe this is something very simple of which I am not aware - but the video is just about unwatchable.

I've tried changing the setting in the VIDEO playback section as well as as the accelerator options I tried "Adjust display refresh rate to match video" and "Sync playback to display" both together and separately.