NUC or more powerful HTPC?
Hi there,

Sorry in advance for such a long post! I would like to improve my home theatre setup and am torn between a couple of approaches. I am a relative newbie to all this, so after much reading I'd like to ask for some advice please.

For some background I currently I have:
Sony 1080p TV
Yamaha 1080p AV receiver
5.1 QAcoustics speaker setup
Wetek Hub (thanks to advice found last year on this forum!)

We do not have live TV feeds; the only thing we watch is our collection of ripped DVDs via Kodi on the Wetek Hub with multiple external HDDs plugged in directly. Now we would like to:

- start making use of streaming services (Netflix, Amazon Video, Spotify etc)
- future proof things if possible (4k in the next year or two)
- store our media collection on a NAS
- "possibly" use the HTPC to replace the main family PC in a separate office

The main reason for replacing the Wetek Hub is that one of the streaming services we would like to use only operates via IE browser. With that in mind we have to consider a Windows HTPC and so I'd like to ask your views on either:

1) get a NUC (NUC7I5BNH) + Samsung SSD 960 EVO M.2 - 250GB + KINGSTON HyperX Impact 8GB (2 x 4GB) (approx 500 euro)
or
2) go with a much higher-end HTPC (such as https://techbuyersguru.com/1100-high-end...r-pc-build) (approx 1100$ according to that blog)

The NUC will be cheaper and easier to get going, but will be more limited in terms of future upgrades.
Option 2 will be much more powerful (overkill at the moment for sure) but would allow for future upgrades, would take (better?) care of future 4k needs than the NUC and would also allow more flexibility to replace the family PC and be used for a variety of other tasks (running VMs, work, games, etc).