ROMs - Not working, need some guidance.
I am new to Kodi, but not to XBMC.  Originally I began with the original Xbox, modded with the Executer3 chip, and from there I was able to run ROMs for SNES, NES, N64, and Sega Genesis.  Then moved to XBMC on the PC as movies and large storage became popular, but never could get my ROMs to work right on the PC.  Then changed to Plex for a while using FreeNAS for storage and the Plex plugin, paired with Roku at the TV. Now I want more of an all in one experience, so I am re-visiting XBMC now known as Kodi, but I am a little lost with getting the ROMs to work and I know it can be done but the steps I am following on various threads, and Retroarch, etc., are not working...  Here's my setup, and what I need help with...

Dell OptiPlex 9020 SFF (Small Form Factor)
Windows 10 Professional 64 Bit
CPU:  Intel Core i5-4570 @ 3.2GHz
RAM:  16 GB
Video:  Radeon HD 7750 1GB
Remote:  Logitech Harmony Elite (PC has a bluetooth adapter)
Gaming:  Xbox One Wireless Adapter for Windows with 2 Xbox One wireless controllers

Ideally I would like a menu on the front right next to Movies that says "Games" and from there I can choose SNES, NES, N64, Sega Genesis, or PC.  My main interest right now is SNES ROMs and will expand from there.  Once I select the platform, I want to see all my ROMs with their wallpaper, box covers, etc., then when I enter the ROM, it loads full screen in the best settings I can use for my system, then when I exit the rom, it dumps back to the ROM selection area.  However, I can't figure out how to load the list of ROMs first off, and second, automagically pull art like the movies and TV shows do.  I would prefer to not load a separate app, but if i need to, I can.  What am I doing wrong?