v19 Notes on compiling v19 alpha on the Raspberry Pi 4+ and Raspbian Buster.
@flos06 have you added these lines to config.txt ?
Code:
dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,cma-256
dtoverlay=rpivid-v4l2
(2021-03-07, 17:32)asavah Wrote: @flos06 have you added these lines to config.txt ?
Code:
dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,cma-256
dtoverlay=rpivid-v4l2

Yes I have, I was on raspberry pi os 32 bit and used rpi-update to get to kernel 5.10.

Currently I am trying 64 bit and compiling the kernel myself from github /Linux the rpi 5.10.y branch.

I am not 100% sure if what I did the first time with rpi-update was correct? Also not sure if what I am doing right now is the way to go or if I have to use some kernel tweaks?
Also is it okay to use sudo apt-get full-upgrade after the kernel update? It seems to do a lot of stuff for 5.4

(I am relatively new to all this but I love learning and trying these things out but clearly I am doing something wrong here)
one more possibility which would be a true facepalm. After installing I booted up kodi using simply the command kodi. Am I supposed to boot it using kodi-gbm? I would think it would not make a difference since I've builded for gbm but maybe?
last post for a while because I'm clogging up the forums. I've figured out from my logs that I am indeed running kodi-gbm by simply running kodi. Another thing which may be a problem is that I am running raspberry pi OS Lite. Should I be using full? I have no need for a desktop environment or anything and figured if I installed all the dependencies it would be fine.

(really annoying that I can't edit my posts why is that?)
(2021-03-08, 12:29)flos06 Wrote: (really annoying that I can't edit my posts why is that?)

It's because you're a newbie account. It's a generic board anti-spam measure as we get too many bots coming in and posting innocuous/random stuff and then coming back later to drop their payloads via the edit function.