Solved Playback quality on Fire Cube Gen 2
I've been using KODI on an original Fire Cube for about a couple of years and never had any issues other than the poor GUI performance.  So when Amazon released the new Hexa-Core models and made them available for only $75 during Christmas I got one.

The performance of the new model is so much better, the GUI is pretty smooth and even with 2200 movies and some 270 TV shows scraped, it handles its own.

Now to the problem.  Some shows that play just fine on the older Firecube and on other machines, are having playback quality problems.  Most 2160p and 1080p content seems to be fine, but lower resolution (SD or 720p) content suffers from "over-processing"?  It's hard to explain, but it look as if this content is over processed during up scaling (it think).  Images become flat and devoid of detail, and subtle shading becomes posterized.  Below are links to a few photos I took off the screen.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ct6ajul653je3bp/trek-001.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7gn9wz1cwtwgg2w/trek-002.jpg
https://www.dropbox.com/s/pmprw855y272q8q/trek-003.jpg

The original Trek episode (Season 1 Episode 18 - Arena) is a 720p rip from the BluRay, and it plays just fine in the old FireCube.  It also plays fine on my other (PC based) KODI setups. 

Basic information on the file:

Container:  MKV Matroska v2
Format:  AVC
File Size:  698MB
Resolution:  960 x 720
Frame Rate 23.976 fps
Bitrate: 1930 Kbps
CODEC ID:  V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Audio: AAC 6 channel

One other bit of information.  During basic troubleshooting I disabled the hardware acceleration (both normal and surface), and it plays much better. 

So I'm wondering if this is an issue with GPU drivers, differences between the original Fire Cube GPU and the new one?

RESOLVED:
See post #7 for the solution
That looks awful. Have you tried whitelisting those resolutions so your TV does the upscaling instead of the Cube?

Also make sure 'Always HDR' is off.