Trying to create a repo to house a build - Need it to update on devices automatically
I am getting back in to tinkering and I wanted to give building and hosting a repo a go.  This is only for me to use and won't be public.  I have a server I can hang the .zip and other files needed on but I am wondering about versioning and updates.  If I modify the master zip how can I push it to my shield or whatever device (maybe my phone) so the build or add-on updates automatically?  I tried doing a local test by hosing the file on my laptop to a build on my laptop but it wasn't seeing any change in the code without uninstalling / reinstalling.  

I could have very well missed a step on my end.  I am a complete rookie and just very interested in learning.  Thanks in advance for help or pointing me in the correct forum direction.
Thread moved to addons development
|Banned add-ons (wiki)|Forum rules (wiki)|VPN policy (wiki)|First time user (wiki)|FAQs (wiki) Troubleshooting (wiki)|Add-ons (wiki)|Free content (wiki)|Debug Log (wiki)|

Kodi Blog Posts
(2022-09-25, 16:22)DarrenHill Wrote: Thread moved to addons development
TY
So I made a small change to the addon, uninstalled it and went to reinstall it from the FTP option that I have mapped as a source in kodi.  However I get a popup for failure to install.  It's the same zip that installed locally from my laptop, only from an FTP and now it doesn't work.
(2022-09-25, 16:42)Proflashrtist Wrote: So I made a small change to the addon, uninstalled it and went to reinstall it from the FTP option that I have mapped as a source in kodi.  However I get a popup for failure to install.  It's the same zip that installed locally from my laptop, only from an FTP and now it doesn't work.

Looks like an update I made messed something up. I tried a local install again and it says invalid structure.  So I'm going to open it again and check.
(2022-09-25, 16:43)Proflashrtist Wrote: