Json from Kodi to an external application
Hello,

I'm not a real developer but I like to do little stuffs with Kodi, I did a custom add-on and small stuffs like that...
My goal would be this time to send a json information from a Kodi installed on a Firetv to an audio application (Cycling 74 "Max") running on a Mac OS.
(to execute some actions in Max, triggered by events in Kodi). The Firetv and the Mac are on the same network.

And I don't know at all how Json works... could anyone help to begin ?
I see that Max is able to receive UDP messages. Is it possible to send json messages over UDP with Kodi ?

Or anyone knowing Max could find another way ? (midi, osc,...)
Thanks for your help !
most things python can do kodi can do from an addon including udp - https://wiki.python.org/moin/UdpCommunication

what isnt clear is what you are asking for, it sounds like you want someone to tell you how the protocols work for Cycling 74 "Max" and what data you can send to it rather than a more general inquiry on how to use udp in kodi

if its the latter the link should be helpful, if its the former im not sure you will find the answer here
Hum… sorry if my question was not clear…

I’m trying to establish communication from Kodi to Max.

And as I saw Max is able to read UDP data, that’s why I was asking if Kodi was able to send UDP messages. And your answer seems to say that yes, so that’s a good news, thanks !
(2023-05-30, 16:48)badsheep Wrote: Hello,

I'm not a real developer but I like to do little stuffs with Kodi, I did a custom add-on and small stuffs like that...
My goal would be this time to send a json information from a Kodi installed on a Firetv to an audio application (Cycling 74 "Max") running on a Mac OS.
(to execute some actions in Max, triggered by events in Kodi). The Firetv and the Mac are on the same network.

I see that Max is able to receive UDP messages. Is it possible to send json messages over UDP with Kodi ?

Thanks for your help !