Posts: 1,234
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation:
5
Thanks Timdog,
I believe I have all my multiimage tags correct and I did remove the original image path.
I think it is my placement within home.xl
PM3.HD seems to have two controls for weather. One for the default image and the other for the user specific background images I am guessing. See below...
- <control type="multiimage">
<posx>356</posx>
<posy>100</posy>
<width>924</width>
<height>520</height>
<info>Skin.String(Home_Custom_Back_Weather_Folder)</info>
<timeperimage>5000</timeperimage>
<randomize>true</randomize>
<fadetime>2000</fadetime>
<include>backgroundfade</include>
<visible>ControlGroup(9000).HasFocus(5)</visible>
<visible>Skin.HasSetting(Home_Enable_Custom_Back_Weather)</visible>
</control>
- <control type="image">
<posx>356</posx>
<posy>100</posy>
<width>924</width>
<height>520</height>
<visible>ControlGroup(9000).HasFocus(5)</visible>
<texture>background-weather.jpg</texture>
<include>backgroundfade</include>
<visible>!Skin.HasSetting(Home_Enable_Custom_Back_Weather)</visible>
</control>
Any assistance on what I should be replacing would be greatly appreciated.
Posts: 15,282
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation:
738
ronie
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 15,282
Could someone please confirm custom backgrounds based on weather conditions are still working on linux with current SVN builds ?
It was working for me in revision 17505 with the PM3.HD skin using this string in Home.xml:
<imagepath>/home/xbmc/.xbmc/skin/weather/$INFO[Weather.FanartCode]</imagepath>
After updating XBMC today to revision 17591 it stopped working. I even tried deleting my entire profile so it was freshly created, but no luck.
Also checking the debug log revealed no relevant info to me.
I've been troubleshooting this issue for a while now and it seems the latest working revision is 17508. So the updates in 17509 broke things for me.
Since there were so many code changes in 17509 it's hard to figure out what's exactly to blame.
Any ideas ?
Posts: 1,234
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation:
5
Thanks timdog,
I got it working now. I ended up deleting the visiable lines altogether and it worked perfect on my home.xml
I have not tried it for myweather.xml, because I don't see how it could possibly look right in pm3.hd. The weather window does not have a fanart view so I am having trouble picturing where the images will appear.
Appreciate your responses.
Posts: 113
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation:
0
It is also broken for me on linux with the latest revisions
Posts: 113
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation:
0
I figured out a workaround for linux.
I was messing around with different paths and noticed in the log that for some reason the imagepath tag looks in this path by default:
/usr/share/xbmc/skin/SKIN/media/
So I added a symlink to my weather folder in that path and changed the imagepath tag in Backgrounds.xml to read
<imagepath>weather/$INFO[Weather.FanartCode]</imagepath>
Now it works.
Posts: 15,282
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation:
738
ronie
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 15,282
Great, thanx! It's working for me too.
Posts: 1,736
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation:
14
Heya Tim,
I think your home.xml file is based on the Mediastream 1.0 version (the one you posted a while back in this thread). Is that correct? If so I was wondering if you happen to be running the Mediastream SVN. I see the home.xml file is a bit different. It look like images are chopped up into 3s? Maybe I am way off but it definately has some positive changes such as when you hit escape from the system settings there is no more flicker etc. Anyways my question is if you are running the SVN version of Mediastream can you post your home.xml file so I can see how you were able to intergrate your changing weather backgrounds? Thanks.
Posts: 1,141
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation:
0
i don't have one that works with the current svn at the moment because the latest svn of mediastream doesn't seem to work quite right with multiimages which I use for some of the home page. I don't know if its actually an xbmc problem or what, but even after a clean install of xbmc and mediastream all my multiimages show the left 1/3 of the default image over the top of my multiimages. I was sort of waiting for them to fix that. So, as soon as that gets working again I plan to update my mediastream and I could upload that file then....
Do any of you guys use multiimages on the home page of mediastream? I want to make sure I'm not alone here with this bug.