Is XBMC Unstable With No Network?
I am an XBMC newbie. Smile

As I have been learning and testing XBMC 9.04.1, I have noticed possible problems with networking. Specifically, the lack of a network.

I realize XBMC is designed to be network-friendly and am now wondering whether a network connection is an underlying requirement in the overall design. The reason I offer this observation is the differences in behavior I have witnessed when connected with a network and when not.

When I have my HTPC connected in my office for testing and other configuration purposes, the box is connected to my LAN (and through the router, the internet). When I move the box to my HTPC in the living room, the box is NOT connected to my network (or the internet).

When connected to my network, and using ordinary desktop external audio speakers, XBMC seems remarkably stable. During the first few weeks I tested XBMC in my office, I was quite excited about the software. Smile

When connected to my HD TV, using the built-in speakers of my HD TV with audio through HDMI, and no network, XBMC is cantankerous and crashes a lot. I soon became discouraged about XBMC. Sad

Today I reconnected my HTPC in my office with my LAN (and no HDMI). XBMC is again remarkably stable. My excitement about using XBMC was rekindled. Hence, my venturing into possible reasons for the instability.

In the office the HTPC is connected to an Acer X193W+ 19 inch wide 1680x1050 monitor via the DVI-D connector. When in the living room the HTPC is connected to a 37 inch 1920x1080 LG 37LH40 HD TV via HDMI.

I started a different thread addressing possible audio through HDMI issues.

In this thread I'd like to address the possibility that XBMC is crash-prone if there is no network connection.

Is this possible? Are there any workarounds?