[LINUX] Sound delay after skipping forward or back
Hi, I am a XBMC for Linux newb but come from the XboxXBMC modding world. I have just about go my new setup working but have one question.

On my Original modded XboxXBMC I used the skip forward/back (cursor keys) alot and they were instant, skipping both video and audio with no delay.

On my new Linux build of XBMC, I now have a delay of @2-3 seconds on the audio. The video is instant still.

Do all Linux users have this delay? Or is it something to do with my HDMI settings?
Can anyone help please?

All I need to know is if my setup is working as normal. Do your setups have a2-3 second silence when you skip fwd and back during video playback with the cursor keys?

Thanks.
Nope. For me it's instant, regardless of which revision I'm running.
Ah that's good news. I hoped that it was a setting thing.

Does anyone have any ideas for me to try?

I have a ASRock 330 ION running Ubuntu 9.04 and XBMC SVN, sound over HDMI. Any help greatly appreciated.
I have the same issue (and also asrock with xbmc live). I suspected it was my receiver re-syncing to the hdmi audio stream....but perhaps it's not?

It's worse with 5.1 than with 2. Still not that bad with either, though. But would be good to solve.
Addons I wrote &/or maintain:
OzWeather (Australian BOM weather) | Check Previous Episode | Playback Resumer | Unpause Jumpback | XSqueezeDisplay | (Legacy - XSqueeze & XZen)
Sorry, no help w/out a *full debug log*.
I also have the same problem. Although it occurs even when starting media, not just when skipping. No idea where the problem lies though.. :/
same for me: starting, skipping, forwarding - after that my sound trough hdmi is delayed few ms (< 500ms) and resync after 10-15 sec.

i'm running ubuntu karmic with r23588 build on gigabyte mb with ALC889A and AMD785 chipset.
Might be a HDMI issue; HDMI support on linux is still pretty new. Try using optical audio, if possible.
Did you see this thread here?