XBMC linux with analog television
Ok, so (as you can probably tell by the fact that this is my first post) I am a newbie. Not to XBMX or linux in general, but to the combination of the two specifically.

I have a wonderful old 37" analog CRT television that I love; I don't plan on replacing it any time soon. Right now I have a lovely old xbox1 running XBMC hooked up to it through my VCR, as the TV only has coaxial connections but the VCR has got RCA connections which the XBOX can connect into.

I love my little old XBOX, but she's starting to grow old. More and more of the video that I want to watch is being released in 720p or higher and in annoying MKV files which are taxing her little pentium III cpu.

So, I am thinking it's time to get an HTPC and throw ubuntu/XBMC on that. The problem is I want to keep the old television. I've installed ubuntu many times successfully and built regular PCs from scratch for years, so I'm OK on that front. I admit that building an HTPC may be a little harder, but I'm ready for that. It appears that the lynchpin is going to be the video card. I need a card that:

1) Is good enough for XBMC with regard to the necessary OpenGL and shader support AND
2) Has drivers for ubuntu which actually work (non-trivial, in my experience) AND
3) Will output either directly to my TV via coaxial or (preferably) to the analog video component of one of these:

Please don't hurt me for asking such a simple question! Smile once I have the answer to the video card question I think the rest of the hardware will be easy to decide upon. TIA!!

edit: I should mention that it would be cool if this setup could play 1080p files. I realize it would have to be downscaled to work on my analog television but you may have guessed by now that I'll less concerned with crystal clear HD video and more interested in just having a setup which can play ANYTHING on the TV I already have. Smile