[LINUX] Video choppy in XBMC but not in other players
Hi,

I've recently switched from an Athlon XP/MX400 running Xubuntu to a much faster P4 2.4GHz with more memory (1G) and a better videocard (FX5600) running Ubuntu for using XBMC.

Now any video I have that plays back fine on VLC or Totem Movie Player plays back choppy in XBMC. I have the version in the Ubuntu 9.10 repository. The video's play back fine on my older Media Center.

It's like it plays back 6 frames slow and then skips 3 frames to make up for it all the time.

Don't VLC and XBMC use the same libraries? I think there's a simpler cause but I can't figure it out.
Try Xubuntu. It's the new Ubuntu.
I read that XBMC doesn't like compiz, which may be installed on your ubuntu distribution.
Isn't that installed by default in Ubuntu? But I purposely disabled desktop compositing.
I think it depends what desktop is installed (kde, gnome etc...) I am a bit of a noob where linux is concerned, I tried a few different installs and noticed xbmc and mythtv were better on mythbuntu than ubuntu 9.1 'out of the box' which I think (but could be wrong) was down to the desktop or compiz.
I think running Gnome shouldn't be a problem, it's the most commonly used desktop manager for linux. Video played back fine on Xubuntu on a slower machine (XFCE) and it also had Compiz, also disabled but still. If it's interfering configuration because of compiz I should have seen it on that machine, I think.

I don't know where to look, but I don't think Gnome is the reason. The machine far exceeds the power to play back a basic XviD, even with some OSD. This is a silly problem, but a serious one nontheless. Sad
Have you tried xbmc live on a cd or usb stick to see if it works ok ?
I was just about to test it, I downloaded and burned XBMC Live 9.11 from here, until I found something else out.
(Totally unrelated: What's up with people zipping files that are uncompressable?)