Release - [depricated] old YouTube Plugin - XBMC 13.0 Frodo/Gotham only

  Thread Rating:
  • 28 Vote(s) - 4.14 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
pacmora Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2851
Hi!

I have the same problem. The plugin youtube worked for me when i was logout, when login plugin fail.

I'm from Spain and I configure the language settings in spanish.

My version XBMC: EDEN
Plugin Youtube version: 3.4.1

In xmbc.log:

Code:
3:41:53 T:3056597872   ERROR: Traceback (most recent call last):
                                              File "/home/xbmcsalon/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/default.py", line 111, in <module>
                                                navigation.listMenu(params)
                                              File "/home/xbmcsalon/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeNavigation.py", line 109, in listMenu
                                                return self.list(params)
                                              File "/home/xbmcsalon/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeNavigation.py", line 193, in list
                                                self.parseVideoList(params, results)
                                              File "/home/xbmcsalon/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeNavigation.py", line 488, in parseVideoList
                                                self.addVideoListItem(params, result_params, listSize)
                                              File "/home/xbmcsalon/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeNavigation.py", line 440, in addVideoListItem
                                                cm = self.addVideoContextMenuItems(params, item_params)
                                              File "/home/xbmcsalon/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeNavigation.py", line 536, in addVideoContextMenuItems
                                                cm.append((self.language(30512) % studio, 'XBMC.RunPlugin(%s?path=%s&channel=%s&action=add_subscription)' % (sys.argv[0], item("path"), url_studio)))
                                            ValueError: incomplete format
13:41:53 T:11421440   ERROR: GetDirectory - Error getting plugin://plugin.video.youtube/?path=/root/playlists&playlist=PLZDyik5DKB_mVvHEpOvcWx9i8Z6GzwpEZ&user_feed=playlist&login=true&
13:41:53 T:11421440   ERROR: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory(plugin://plugin.video.youtube/?path=/root/playlists&playlist=PLZDyik5DKB_mVvHEpOvcWx9i8Z6GzwpEZ&user_feed=playlist&login=true&) failed

This solution work for me:

In the plugin directory, go /resources/language/Spanish/strings.xml. Open the file and search
Code:
<string id="30512">Subscribirse a %s%</string>
<string id="30513">Dar de baja de %s%</string>

Change for
Code:
<string id="30512">Subscribirse a %s</string>
<string id="30513">Dar de baja de %s</string>
find
aaris Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2852
Hi all,


i face a problem with youtube plugin: problem is that the script fails when i try to search using greek characters. Actually after i try to search with greek characters the script fails all the time when i choose search, before i even try to search for something.

I use FRODO RC3 and youtube plugin 4.4.1

xbmc script is here: http://pastebin.ca/2307574
find
bigboybill Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2853
(2013-01-25 17:51)Surgo Wrote:  
(2013-01-15 19:02)folkg Wrote:  Q: Can someone confirm that live YouTube streams don't work? YouTube streams some live sports that I would love to be able to receive through XBMC, but currently the plugin says that the video stream doesn't exist. I have to access the videos through my browser. Is this a known limitation? Or am I missing something important?

Having the same issue right now (just started using XBMC). Regular Youtube vids work, but attempting to watch the League of Legends Championship Qualifiers livestream is failing Undecided Says "couldn't locate video url". Fails both when I click on it using my remote, and use "Send to XBMC" from my browser.

For that matter, the livestreams are not showing up on the user's channel in my subscriptions either.

Attempting to fix myself but drugged up after wisdom teeth extraction (same reason I'm watching it from my couch in the first place heh) so not going so well

I'm trying to watch lacrosse on YouTube live right now and I get the URL not found error as well. From my log, it looks like it can't find the video when it is scraping the page. For some reason, some live videos work fine. I don't know why the addon would be able to scrape some pages and not others.
find
amiosamy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2854
I can't get any youtube videos to work on Frodo RC3 with youtube plugin 4.4.1. any help please?
find
Shaq2k Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2855
(2013-01-26 10:08)perro6969 Wrote:  Just like I thought... look at this post. It's working for me:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1292056
Thank you for this. It worked for me also.
Probably something to do because I use Norwegian letters I guess.
find
martinLB Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2856
(2013-01-20 21:23)BillDino Wrote:  Apple TV 2 XBMC wont "Play All/Play and Shuffle All" on youtube. Any help? Tried downgrading to 3.3.0 youtube but still no luck. Here is my debug. Thank you!
http://pastebin.com/wEupKUBA

were you able to find a solution?
find
d3mncln3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2857
(2013-01-16 22:20)nihilist Wrote:  It seems that my chrome and firefox plugin taken from
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Add...extensions

does not show any "play in xbmc" Button on a youtube page

can anybody confirm this?

I use xbmc 12-rc2

I am having the same problem, I can't see the button anywhere. I have searched this thread and not found a solution just yet. It was suggested to delete the plugin folders manually and reload, which I did, but still nothing. I have tried both chrome and firefox. I'm on a mac if that matters. Can anyone offer any thoughts on why the button is not showing up for me?
find
watanave Offline
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Santiago, Chile
Post: #2858
(2013-01-20 00:21)watanave Wrote:  Hola,

Youtube addon does not work for me. When I click any option (favorites, Etc.) it says "plugin error"

Here is the log: http://pastebin.com/Qw1X9xEJ

Adiós.

I think I've found the problem that gives me the "Plugin Error" when accessing my favorites or any other option in youtube plugin. My language was setting in Spanish and XMBC showed me the error.

Here is the debug log "Spanish Settings": http://pastebin.com/twni4rwW

And then I changed the language to English and voilá... No error, everything worked like expected.

This is the debug log "English Settings": http://pastebin.com/8rsZhk94 (No error)

Can anybody who knows coding, tell me how to fix this.

Gracias.
find
BillDino Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2859
(2013-01-28 23:39)martinLB Wrote:  
(2013-01-20 21:23)BillDino Wrote:  Apple TV 2 XBMC wont "Play All/Play and Shuffle All" on youtube. Any help? Tried downgrading to 3.3.0 youtube but still no luck. Here is my debug. Thank you!
http://pastebin.com/wEupKUBA

were you able to find a solution?

Nope :\
find
ACME_Corp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2860
(2013-01-30 04:07)watanave Wrote:  
(2013-01-20 00:21)watanave Wrote:  Hola,

Youtube addon does not work for me. When I click any option (favorites, Etc.) it says "plugin error"

Here is the log: http://pastebin.com/Qw1X9xEJ

Adiós.

I think I've found the problem that gives me the "Plugin Error" when accessing my favorites or any other option in youtube plugin. My language was setting in Spanish and XMBC showed me the error.

Here is the debug log "Spanish Settings": http://pastebin.com/twni4rwW

And then I changed the language to English and voilá... No error, everything worked like expected.

This is the debug log "English Settings": http://pastebin.com/8rsZhk94 (No error)

Can anybody who knows coding, tell me how to fix this.

Gracias.

pacmora gives you the solution a few messages up.
find
pike Offline
Team Kodi Admin
Posts: 4,998
Joined: Sep 2003
Reputation: 30
Location: Sweden
Post: #2861
Is this a known issue ? Whenever a youtube video has an age limit, it's impossible to play it with this add-on ?

This issue is rather annoying Smile

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find
SkyHead Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2862
(2013-01-09 13:28)ghizzu Wrote:  
(2013-01-09 02:44)MadPriest Wrote:  this is from a message i posted 3 days ago
noone got the answers?
Code:
19:15:47 T:2750528320   ERROR: EXCEPTION Thrown (PythonToCppException) : -->Python callback/script returned the following error<--
                                             - NOTE: IGNORING THIS CAN LEAD TO MEMORY LEAKS!
                                            Error Type: <type 'exceptions.UnicodeDecodeError'>
                                            Error Contents: 'ascii' codec can't decode byte 0xd1 in position 7: ordinal not in range(128)
                                            Traceback (most recent call last):
                                              File "/home/igalsc/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/default.py", line 111, in <module>
                                                navigation.listMenu(params)
                                              File "/home/igalsc/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeNavigation.py", line 109, in listMenu
                                                return self.list(params)
                                              File "/home/igalsc/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeNavigation.py", line 184, in list
                                                (results, status) = self.storage.list(params)
                                              File "/home/igalsc/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeStorage.py", line 53, in list
                                                return self.getStoredSearches(params)
                                              File "/home/igalsc/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeStorage.py", line 112, in getStoredSearches
                                                thumbnail = self.retrieveSettings(params, "thumbnail", item)
                                              File "/home/igalsc/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeStorage.py", line 476, in retrieveSettings
                                                key = self.getStorageKey(params, type, item)
                                              File "/home/igalsc/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeStorage.py", line 249, in getStorageKey
                                                return self._getThumbnailStorageKey(params, item)
                                              File "/home/igalsc/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/YouTubeStorage.py", line 299, in _getThumbnailStorageKey
                                                return key.encode("utf-8","ignore")
                                            UnicodeDecodeError: 'ascii' codec can't decode byte 0xd1 in position 7: ordinal not in range(128)
                                            -->End of Python script error report<--

Try this:
in YouTubeStorage.py find this line:
Code:
return key.encode("utf-8","ignore")
and replace it with this one:
Code:
return key.decode("utf-8").encode("utf-8","ignore")

It should work (don't ask me why)



Can someone dumb it down for me, when I try "sudo nano" on those directories, I find nothing.
Where do I find YouTubeStorage.py in xbmcbuntu?

Is this the fix for "Script failed! : plugin.video.youtube"?

Can someone please tell me where to find "YouTubeStorage.py" file in xbmcbuntu?
(This post was last modified: 2013-02-06 21:54 by SkyHead.)
find
m1mi.dan0s Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2863
Is there a way to normalize the volume of the Youtube Video's?

I notice when I play a playlist there's a lot of difference in volumes between video's.

I tried looking thru the plugin's settings as well as XBMC's settings, but there's nothing when it comes to video's that normalize the volume.

Is this possible? If not, is it maybe a nice feature to add in the future?

TV: Panasonic L32E5
AVR: Panasonic BTT282
HTPC: Antec Fusion 430 Silver - Antec Earthwatts EA-500D Green - Asrock A75M-HVS - AMD A8-3870K - Scythe Ninja Rev. B - Kingston 2x4 GB 1866Mhz - Crucial M4 SSD 64GB - OS: Windows 8 x64
REMOTE: Logitech Harmony 555
STORAGE: Synology DS211 [2TB]
GAMING: PS3 Classic 80GB
find
BillTuttle Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2864
Any progress on the YouTube issue? I've tried the "return key.decode("utf-8").encode("utf-8","ignore")" patch and I still get the video url not found. Any suggestions?
find
Schani Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2865
Hello,

my youtube add-on is not working. When I start it is displaying "Open Stream" and after some seconds it closes (without starting the video) without error message and returns to the clip overview.

In the debug log there is a warning followed by some error messages.

Here is the logfile: http://pastebin.com/VEwZFNbf

I'm running youtube add-on 4.4.1 with XBMC Frodo / OpenElec on Raspberry Pi

Thanks for your help!
Johannes
(This post was last modified: 2013-02-07 11:22 by Schani.)
find
Thread Closed