Noobie with nvidia problems
I am completely new to XBMC. On my son's suggestion, I set up an unused pc I built a few years ago with XBMC. It has an AMD processor running at 2.2gz with 2gb ram. The motherboard is AGP so I upgraded the video card to a GeForce 6200 AGP video card and adjusted the bios accordingly but I am having problems playing .mkv files. The video will play for about 30 seconds and then it locks up and I have to reboot. I am sure I need updated drivers but I haven't a clue as to how to get them or how to install them. I ran the Check for Updates and it installed some 34+ mb of updates. Is there a guide or other resource I can refer to help me?
wrgarrett Wrote:I am completely new to XBMC. On my son's suggestion, I set up an unused pc I built a few years ago with XBMC. It has an AMD processor running at 2.2gz with 2gb ram. The motherboard is AGP so I upgraded the video card to a GeForce 6200 AGP video card and adjusted the bios accordingly but I am having problems playing .mkv files. The video will play for about 30 seconds and then it locks up and I have to reboot. I am sure I need updated drivers but I haven't a clue as to how to get them or how to install them. I ran the Check for Updates and it installed some 34+ mb of updates. Is there a guide or other resource I can refer to help me?

If we are talking about Ubuntu here, you can get current drivers from:
https://launchpad.net/~ubuntu-x-swat/+archive/x-updates

However you might want to consider downgrading your drivers. The 6xxx series is afaik the oldest GPU which is still supported by the current Nvidia drivers. Therefore they sometimes do not test their latest driver very well on that card. I have a laptop with a 6600 card and I'm currently running version 260.19.06. However I had to downgrade my driver many times to the Nvidia legacy driver in the past. It sometimes happens that they mess up the support for old cards.