I need help with my first htpc project
Ok first of all I've never built an htpc before (or anything really). Was thinking about buying the Asrock vision 3d but Im not sure i'd be completely happy with it. So I've been entertaining the idea of building my own htpc and casualy mentioned it to a buddy. It turns out his next door neighbor is selling a case that he bought not too long ago for a project that he is now abandoning for some reason. It's a silverstone GD05B. He sold it to me for $65 brand new still on it's box. Today I went to microcenter and picked up an i3-2100 for 99 bucks, it was on sale so i bought it..so this is where I am right now. a case and a cpu. Rofl So I need some help and suggestions on what I should do/get next. Thanks.

case - silverstone gd05
cpu - intel i3-2100

Strictly for watching movies, no gaming but I might use it for ripping some of my blu-rays.
At a minimum you're going to need a MB, RAM, PSU, and maybe HDD/SSD. But before we can make recommendations you need to answer a few more questions.

What operating system do you plan on running - windows or linux?

Do you want to be able to play 3D BluRays?

Will your movies be stored locally on this HTPC or do you already have a media server/NAS that you can stream from?
HTPC: Win 7 Home 64-bit | MB | CPU | GPU | RAM | Case | PSU | Tuner | HDDs: OS, Media | DVD Burner | Remote
Media server: unraid 4.7 | CPU | MB | RAM | Case | PSU | HDDs: Parity-2TB, Data-2x2TB
good start wsume99!!

i usually ask the same questions Tongue

do you have a 3D HDTV?
do you have a 7.1 HD Audio/Video Receiver?
you plan on running WIndows or LInux?
you need WiFi Internet?
you need to stream NetFlix-HD?
you need to play heavy PC games?
you need to do heavy video Ripping jobs?
you need to do heavy video Encoding jobs?
where's your media stored?

Tongue
Thanks wsume99 and eskro!

I don't know anything about linux so I'm going with windows 7.