a hard decision...for me, i need an advice which hardware
i am new to this site and i would like to say hello to everyone.
first of, sorry for my bad english, i am giving my best Smile

i want to build a htpc, i am new to this, but not new in operating systems and software/hardware in general.

after a lot of reading i canceled buying a boxxe box or appletv.
now i want to build a nice and flawless working htpc.
i often read that intel + ion based hardware works best with linux +xbmc ootb.
i also read that amds zacato is more powerful but it has a lot of problems running with linux.
is this true? what about kernel 3.0?
is there a amd mini itx hardware available, which is working ootb in linux (or with a little tweak)
windows might be the best solution in terms of hardware-drivers, but i really would like to run linux on it.
after setting up this whole thing, the system has to be girlfriend-proof (she is o-kay with tech, not a total noob)

i am really not sure what hardware to pick….

my needs are:
running every video file i am throwing at this htpc, fully hardware accelerated in 720p/1080p at any bitrate, totally fluid/smooth
the option to play bluray + 3d
full sound (i read somewhere that amds zacato has problems with hdmi audio, is this still a problem?)
the possibility to add a dvb-c/s card in the (near?) future
gigabit network
wlan, ir remote control, usb ports (3.0 would be great if its also possible)

i want to buy the hardware today Wink
so, i really need an advice

i thought of this configuration:

Asus AT5IONT-I (or deluxe) D525 with Realtek ALC887
or
Asus E35M1-I Deluxe with Realtek ALC892
or
Gigabyte GA-E350N-USB3 with Realtek ALC892

if there is a board (ION2 or AMD) which works a lot better then what i listed, please tell me Smile

also i thought to buy 2gb ram (is this enough?)
a 32 or 64gb ssd drive

i have a tinnitus and therefor i need a system which is super quiet, so it has to be a fanless solution (or with a fan that is not noticeable)