Graphics Card Noise
Quartermass Wrote:Since it's a full sized case it means I can go for the XFX card I linked, and mount an 80mm fan directly on to it. You can get very quiet fans these days (they just spin slow) and I'll put 7v into the fan. That'd end up being a triple width card, so all I need to ensure is that the case would take that... I think it would... and that I pick a motherboard that would take it while still leaving some slots open..
Well, it might all fit in there. I can’t be sure. Plus, your case may be a bit different than mine IDK.
I have no experience in modding fans to heat sinks so I don’t know how you are going to accomplish what you intend. More to the point, I seriously do not see the need to go through all that (the effort and the space). Meaning I do not see what you stand to gain over a stock heat sink and fan. IFAIK, the 6570 is not going to break a sweat with 1080p so the stock fan should not be spinning up to high speed. Are you planning heavy gaming?

Quartermass Wrote:From what you've said I could go for an ATX not just a micro ATX board, right?
I don’t know about that, mine is a micro-ATX case. Better check the specs for the case you intend to use.

Quartermass Wrote:I'm going to take your advice and get a lower processor than I had intended... I always tend to err on the overkill, but I'll do down that route. I've seen very little reviews of the G620 but it doesn't really matter, it'll idle at the same or better than the i3-2100. I'll see how much money is in the kitty when it comes to it, and if there's a surplus I'll go for the 2100t (which is an extravagence I know), otherwise it'll be the little Pentium that could.