Disc menu: Is it available?
I'm an XBMC Noob, and am still trying to get everything worked out the way it should work. I'm struggling with the operation and can't seem to get it to operate as I expect it. Is there any way when watching a DVD (from the HDD) to directly access the main Disc Menu? (Root Menu)

I understand you can access the "Media menu" (Press m) then move the cursor to the disc symbol and press select. It seems awfully cumbersome. It there some short-cut key that can be used?

I have tried the various keys on the MCE remote as well as the keys on the Multiimedia keyboard without any luck. What am I missing?

I've also noticed that some DVDs have way too much crap at the introduction and I'd like to "skip-ahead" to the main DVD menu instead of watching all the previews and crap. I've noticed if I hit the "Next" or "Skip" buttons the DVD stops and the display reverts back to the XBMC menus. Maybe I just need that "DVD Menu" key? (In Windows Media Player this menu is called "Root Menu".) Is there a Root Menu key for XBMC?

I've tried searching and reviewing several articles on the Wiki but I keep coming up empty. What have I missed?

Thanks.
Rip'em with MakeMKV.

That'll give you a freshly rolled mkv file with only the feature film...
If I helped out pls give me a +

A bunch of XBMC instances, big-ass screen in the basement + a 20TB FreeBSD, ZFS server.
thethirdnut Wrote:Rip'em with MakeMKV.

That'll give you a freshly rolled mkv file with only the feature film...

Thanks for your reply. I know that's an option, but it defeats the point. I actually want and use the menus and the extra features on many of the discs.
You can use DVDShrink to remaster the DVD to remove unwanted content.