Help with drivers and GPU and fan control
Hi all. Sorry for the ignorance but I have a few questions on optimizing my new HTPC.

I purchased a Radeon HD 6870 GPU amongst other things. I have always used nVidia cards, so I am new to ATI. Aside from maintaining current Catalyst drivers what do I need to do to remove old ATI drivers when installing a new version?

Also is there a good utility for OCing the card and controlling its fan?

Lastly - I wanted a good utility for control case fan speeds. Is there such a thing without somehow tapping into the wiring of each fan? I have never cared about fan control, but with a HTPC I do.

Thanks all.
For fans control, look at "Speedfan".
ghart999 Wrote:Hi all. Sorry for the ignorance but I have a few questions on optimizing my new HTPC.

I purchased a Radeon HD 6870 GPU amongst other things. I have always used nVidia cards, so I am new to ATI. Aside from maintaining current Catalyst drivers what do I need to do to remove old ATI drivers when installing a new version?

Also is there a good utility for OCing the card and controlling its fan?

Lastly - I wanted a good utility for control case fan speeds. Is there such a thing without somehow tapping into the wiring of each fan? I have never cared about fan control, but with a HTPC I do.

Thanks all.

Catalyst Control Center will allow you to over clock your card and adjust fan speed manually. I really like MSI Afterburner as an over clock utility as well because it shows you graphs of temp, fan speed, core clock, etc.
lrusak Wrote:Catalyst Control Center will allow you to over clock your card and adjust fan speed manually. I really like MSI Afterburner as an over clock utility as well because it shows you graphs of temp, fan speed, core clock, etc.