[RELEASE] Boxee Inspirat Skin

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Votes - 3.43 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ginsengbomb Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
Sranshaft Wrote:I made a few personal modifications that I'd love to push upstream if there is interest in them.

+1 Yes please.

[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
find quote
Sranshaft Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,426
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 24
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #32
newbra Wrote:Excellent, looking forward to this myself. Love the weather icon which is exactly how and where I wanted to implement it but didn't for lack of proper icons.

I cheated a little when it came to the weather icons. I grabbed them from the Boxee skin. Down the line, I'll probably go about creating a set from scratch though to keep things kosher.

newbra Wrote:2 row Poster view with larger thumbs is great too, I thought my initial 3 rows were a little crammed almost like a wall view. Also like that you made the info overlay optional as i think it isn't necessarily needed depending on how one navigates. I for example have the remote set to "show information" on select, which is why i tend to prefer full width posters without info.

Thanks, that was one of the first things I modded. With the 3 rows there was just too many covers on screen at one time to really focus on anything in particular.

I wanted to do the same thing with the list view but came across too many issues when it came to navigating the rest of the menus outside of the video library (addon dialog, file dialog, etc). The file menu was a particular pain in the ass. Things would look fine without the details in until I entered the movie / tv show library and then things would 'stick' until I reset the Show Details setting.

newbra Wrote:Couple of notes:
Replacing feed-thumb area on homescreen. My suggestion would be to implement this in a way that it does replace based on the main menu selection, So that on-hover "movies" it would exchange video feed for recently added movies, same with TV etc. Remaining menu items that don't have obvious sub-content can revert back to the feed.

That's definitely a better idea. I have another idea for the favorite addons menu in mind so I'll use your idea of adding the recently added / watchlist addon.

newbra Wrote:One small thing that I think does not work so well is using the selection rectangle_off (grey) on non-selected thumbs. I temporarily had this myself during development and wasn't convinced by the look. Something you may want to look check as alternative is to replace it with a "diffusemask" in the thumb props. I already have some PNG masks in skin/media/ which are meant to round off the corners of the non-selected thumbs.

I thought so too but it's kind of grown on me. I went ahead and created some image mask individually for each view. The one thing I think could be added further in the skinning engine is to allow borders for the diffuse image. Without the borders the curved corners tend to stretch.

newbra Wrote:You should be able to pretty much copy/paste a lot from DialogVideoInfo.xml.
In fact I had a FullscreenVideoInfo.xml at one point... But then streamlined it and decided to copy/paste it into VideoOSD and just make it a on-hover button instead of having to click it.

I completely overhauled the DialogVideoInfo.xml but you're right and I'll probably end up using the new version for the FullscreenVideoInfo.xml.

newbra Wrote:Also: Uploaded all source PSD's if it helps adding and editing icons etc.
http://www.flytampa.org/junk/media-PSD.zip

Thank you very much for that. It'll come in handy along the way. I hope I'm not stepping on too many toes with this mod. Blush

Now on to some more screens:

The new DialogVideoInfo.xml window
[Image: screenshot005.png]

List view with Watched Overlay and HD icon in the header
[Image: screenshot006.png]

New extended list view
[Image: screenshot008.png]

New buffering screen
[Image: screenshot007.png]

[Image: all-thin-fanart.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-04 16:33 by Sranshaft.)
find quote
newbra Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #33
Updated the font.xml in /720p/ within the first post download.
This makes NaviX usable with the Skin.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-05 01:48 by newbra.)
find quote
newbra Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #34
Skinned NaviX for seamless integration with the Boxee-Inspirat. Released, see first post in thread.
[Image: navix1.jpg]

[Image: navix2.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-06 00:08 by newbra.)
find quote
newbra Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #35
The HomeFeed appears to be working again in Eden-RC2. After manually installing: https://github.com/pieh/pieh-xbmc-addons...-1.0.4.zip

there are a few other issues to resolve for better RC2 compatibility, one one being:

Because of the Now playing button in this skin, I need conditional navigation like:

<onup condition="Player.HasMedia">9999</onup>
<onup condition="!Player.HasMedia">7000</onup>

This is not working. It does not move up to 9999 neither 7000 regardless if media is playing or not. Is there another way of doing this?
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 11,032
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 103
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #36
Make <onup> go to buttons with the same ID, then make them <onfocus>9999</onfocus> and <onfocus>7000</onfocus>, and finally add the visible condition to each <visible>Player.HasMedia</visible> and <visible>!Player.HasMedia</visible>.
find quote
newbra Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #37
Hitcher Wrote:Make <onup> go to buttons with the same ID, then make them <onfocus>9999</onfocus> and <onfocus>7000</onfocus>, and finally add the visible condition to each <visible>Player.HasMedia</visible> and <visible>!Player.HasMedia</visible>.

Thanks. I did a quick test and that works as well. I'm wondering tho, is the <onup condition="***">***</onup> obsolete or just temporarily broken (worked before RC1,2)? It seems more straightforward and elegant then these dummy buttons.
find quote
Sranshaft Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,426
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 24
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #38
I believe, and one the devs can correct my if I'm wrong, but conditions are only evaluated at window creation. I ran into this problem a lot when trying to condense some of your re-used code.

Some new screens:

Square view for Album and Addon menus
[Image: screenshot009.png]

Home screen with random Addons submenu (added button for DVD playback)
[Image: screenshot011.png]

Updated video info screen
[Image: screenshot012.png]

For those that want to give it a try, download it from: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3687220/Boxee%20...spirat.zip

[Image: all-thin-fanart.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-09 15:53 by Sranshaft.)
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 11,032
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 103
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #39
newbra Wrote:Thanks. I did a quick test and that works as well. I'm wondering tho, is the <onup condition="***">***</onup> obsolete or just temporarily broken (worked before RC1,2)? It seems more straightforward and elegant then these dummy buttons.

It should work for RC2, I actually thought this was to make it Dharma compatible.
find quote
Madlib Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
Sranshaft Wrote:I believe, and one the devs can correct my if I'm wrong, but conditions are only evaluated at window creation. I ran into this problem a lot when trying to condense some of your re-used code.

Some new screens:

Square view for Album and Addon menus
[image]

Home screen with random Addons submenu (added button for DVD playback)
[image]

Updated video info screen
[image]

For those that want to give it a try, download it from: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3687220/Boxee%20...spirat.zip

Love it! but I really liked the RSS feed on the home screen. How do I get this back??
find quote
espengaasemyr Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: norway
Post: #41
Lovely skin!

When i try pseudotv script from the "live tv" button on the home menu
it start playing but all the text is gone...same problem when trying from program section...??

[Image: widget]
find quote
Sranshaft Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,426
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 24
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #42
espengaasemyr Wrote:Lovely skin!

When i try pseudotv script from the "live tv" button on the home menu
it start playing but all the text is gone...same problem when trying from program section...??

PseudoTV is one of the things I'm still working on. I should have said some things are still in flux and may not be working 100%.

[Image: all-thin-fanart.jpg]
find quote
gardnersm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
Can't wait till its compatible with the release candidates. Looks great!
find quote
newbra Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #44
gardnersm Wrote:Can't wait till its compatible with the release candidates. Looks great!

I will wait until the final Eden is released before I work on it again. Some of the navigation stuff mentioned earlier is using the "newer code" and was working in Betas (2&3) but for some reason isn't working in the RCs. I will wait and see what does and doesn't work in final Eden before I change skin-code that should work fine in the final release.
find quote
espengaasemyr Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: norway
Post: #45
Sranshaft Wrote:PseudoTV is one of the things I'm still working on. I should have said some things are still in flux and may not be working 100%.

Okay. Laugh keep up the good work!

[Image: widget]
find quote
Post Reply