[LIVE] Cheapest hardware for XBMC Live
Hello All,

I would like some suggestions for the most cost effective hardware to run XBMC on.

I have been using XBMC since 2004 ( then called XBMP ) on an original xbox and I love it it just works and is very easy for my wife to use.

I have just found out that xvid / avi are being phased out for tv show releases and because the old xbox is not powerful enough to play them I need a replacement.

I use linux day to day so keen to use XBMC Live or now I see it is called XBMCbuntu.

I did consider a boxee box but I like having the library options and thumb nails etc cached on the local hard drive and really want to stick with XBMC.

my main requirements are

HDMI out for video / audio to my Yamaha RX-V1065
1080p capable not interested in 3D

thanks in advance.
I would say go for the ATV2 as for $100 you could get a nice small device to run XBMC on. It has hdmi output for video/audio as well as optical out for audio as well if required.

However since 1080p is a requirement, I would recommend maybe waiting for the ATV3? Rumor is that it may be announced in the next week or two and should support 1080p. Hopefully the jailbreak/XBMC community jumps on it.

Another option is trying to get in on a raspberrypi.com device. It has been show to run xbmc. However it sold out very fast when it was first released. But for $35 you can't really go wrong. Smile

Everything I looked at took me into the $200+ range. ATV2 has been my best option and I was happy with the 720p playback.
I should point out that XBMC has become much less "install and use" than it was in the xbox days. If you don't like fiddling with your setup (and reading these forums Big Grin ), then Boxee Box really might be a better option.
Since you are very price sensitive, I'd suggest doing a lot of research before purchase - most people don't get their home theater to a satisfactory level until about their 3rd try. I'm on about my 5th...