Old Gamer building 1st HTPC rig
Hi All,

Kudos to all those that have spent time on these forums and posted some excellent info.

I'm about to take the leap into building a HTPC, I've had about 20 years experience building gaming rigs but now I'm getting busier with an ever expanding family I have less time to get fully immersed into gaming.

I'm a bit rusty with some of the new AMD hardware having last built my rig two years ago.

So now I'm going to butcher my gaming rigs and try to use some of the components inside.

I'm aiming to build a slimline good looking htpc that can still play games at a decent level when and if the need arises.

I'm basically looking for something to play music, movies and games from this box direct to my TV via HDMI.

I have Virgin so no need to record live TV

My TV is then connected via Digital Optical direct to a processer which splits the sound to my amp. It's a fairly old Technics 5.1 processor & amp but still does the business and I can quite happily hook up my laptop via displayport to the TV and watch movies with no problem. However I'm now after something a little more civilised Smile

I have a couple of options:

Option A:

Case: Silverstone ML03 or preferably the moneual moncasa 320b which I'm finding very hard to source in the UK
This would force me down the route of getting a low profile card which would be a combo of HIS 6670 + an A8 3870K
I would then purchase a SSD and a couple of Western Digital Greens to fit in.

I have another old gaming case which I would then just add a shed load of drives in and install unraid for more storage

Option B:

Case: Silverstone GD06
The case allows for a larger choice of gfx cards and processors but could open up a can of worms and then I'd end up spending a lot more money than I wanted to.
It could potentially also negate the need for an unraid server with having the extra slots for disk drives.