XBMC v12 (Frodo) upgrade FAQ

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
scott967 Offline
Fan
Posts: 725
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 15
Post: #91
12.1 upgrade FAQ? Is there any FAQ on going 12.0 --> 12.1?

scott s.
.
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,824
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 287
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #92
12.0 to 12.1 shouldn't really have any functional difference. We can put in the existing 12 FAQ that going to 12.1 is just a matter of installing 12.1 on top of 12. Maybe a link to github for the changes/fixes, too.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
muldereric Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #93
Today I found out about the new 12.1 version. I was running 12.0 XBMCBuntu version on my HTPC and therefore followed the ppa update instructions using ppa:team-xbmc/ppa, as mentioned on the front page.

Original instructions for the update to 12.1:
Code:
sudo apt-get install python-software-properties pkg-config
sudo ppa-purge -r ppa:whatever-ppa-you-have-now
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:whatever-ppa-here
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc.bin

Connecting with SSH worked just fine, done that many times before.
The problem is with the second line of code "sudo ppa-purge...". Sudo reports there is no such instruction as ppa-purge.
As I assumed it might have been a leftover from older version, I decided to skip the step and proceed with the next.
All other instructions went fine, but when I now start my HTPC, it will login to xbmcbuntu and will not start xbmc anymore. It used to be that xbmc was started automatically after boot.
How can I fix this?
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,774
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 142
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #94
Just do this
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc.bin

What you had is for a different kind of upgrade where you need to remove source A insert Source B and upgrade which is not needed in this case.

uNi
find quote
muldereric Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #95
Ok, I have executed the steps you mentioned and it appeared to work just fine.
The only problem now is that my xbmcbuntu machine by default starts with the desktop instead of xbmc. Something gets changed during the apt-get upgrade command which causes xbmc to be removed as default startup mode.
Any idea how I can fix this? I don't want to add a startup shortcut to the desktop, I just want xbmc to startup as default, and not the desktop.
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,774
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 142
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #96
This is not the thread for Support, but Ill answer it just this once (second time), You need to logout and login as XBMC not xbmcbuntu, lightdm will remember your last login and autologin that. (I dont use xbmcbuntu anyway but this is what is explained in various forum threads)

uNi
find quote
spookystew Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #97
Trying to get to 12.1 from xbmcbuntu 12.0. During the sudo apt-get upgrade I get this:

rhtpc@lrhtpc:~$ sudo apt-get upgradesudo] password for lrhtpc:
eading package lists... Done
uilding dependency tree
eading state information... Done
he following packages have been kept back:
linux-generic linux-generic-pae linux-headers-generic linux-headers-generic-pae linux-image linux-image-generic linux-image-generic-pae
he following packages will be upgraded:
xbmc xbmc-bin
upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 7 not upgraded.
0 not fully installed or removed.
eed to get 0 B/35.8 MB of archives.
fter this operation, 6,357 kB of additional disk space will be used.
o you want to continue [Y/n]? y
Reading database ... 498374 files and directories currently installed.)
reparing to replace xbmc 2:12.0~git20130128.1315-frodo-0oneiric (using .../xbmc_3%3a12.0-1~ppa1~oneiric_all.deb) ...
npacking replacement xbmc ...
pkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/xbmc_3%3a12.0-1~ppa1~oneiric_all.deb (--unpack):
trying to overwrite '/usr/share/xbmc/addons/pvr.hts/changelog.txt', which is also in package xbmc-pvr-tvheadend-hts 1.6.19-0oneiric
pkg-deb: error: subprocess paste was killed by signal (Broken pipe)
reparing to replace xbmc-bin 2:12.0~git20130128.1315-frodo-0oneiric (using .../xbmc-bin_3%3a12.0-1~ppa1~oneiric_i386.deb) ...
npacking replacement xbmc-bin ...
pkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/xbmc-bin_3%3a12.0-1~ppa1~oneiric_i386.deb (--unpack):
trying to overwrite '/usr/lib/xbmc/addons/pvr.hts/XBMC_Tvheadend.pvr', which is also in package xbmc-pvr-tvheadend-hts 1.6.19-0oneiric
pkg-deb: error: subprocess paste was killed by signal (Broken pipe)
rocessing triggers for hicolor-icon-theme ...
rocessing triggers for man-db ...
rrors were encountered while processing:
/var/cache/apt/archives/xbmc_3%3a12.0-1~ppa1~oneiric_all.deb
/var/cache/apt/archives/xbmc-bin_3%3a12.0-1~ppa1~oneiric_i386.deb
: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
rhtpc@lrhtpc:~$



This also happens during the sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc.bin also, I'm stumped. Any ideas?

Edit: I cut off the first column of the copy/paste, so that I messed up posting here.
(This post was last modified: 2013-03-23 04:31 by spookystew.)
find quote
spookystew Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #98
(2013-03-22 01:39)uNiversal Wrote:  Just do this
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc.bin

What you had is for a different kind of upgrade where you need to remove source A insert Source B and upgrade which is not needed in this case.

uNi

After a complete wipe and install, and reading other threads shouldn't that be "xbmc xbmc-bin" instead of "xbmc.bin"? A - instead of a .?
find quote
kdoug Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #99
(2013-03-21 02:26)Ned Scott Wrote:  12.0 to 12.1 shouldn't really have any functional difference. We can put in the existing 12 FAQ that going to 12.1 is just a matter of installing 12.1 on top of 12. Maybe a link to github for the changes/fixes, too.


interesting reply Ned , im not that clever.. unlike some here.
will be keeping to v12
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,824
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 287
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #100
(2013-03-24 13:41)kdoug Wrote:  
(2013-03-21 02:26)Ned Scott Wrote:  12.0 to 12.1 shouldn't really have any functional difference. We can put in the existing 12 FAQ that going to 12.1 is just a matter of installing 12.1 on top of 12. Maybe a link to github for the changes/fixes, too.


interesting reply Ned , im not that clever.. unlike some here.
will be keeping to v12

Not sure what you're getting at? I mean that there are no new features. The FAQ is more about what new features/changes there are for Frodo.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
philhu Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 157
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #101
FYI

Make sure you mention that you do NOT install rPI xbmc (raspbmc) this way.

raspbmx is not a pkg and if you do that, you can cause a world of hurt
(This post was last modified: 2013-04-04 21:20 by philhu.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,824
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 287
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #102
Install it in what way?

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
FlyingNun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #103
I am having difficulty upgrading to 12.1. Right now I am using 11.0. Tried entering the below commands in Putty, but I am getting stuck with interpretting certain lines in bold. When they say "whatever ppa you have now", how do I know what PPA I have currently? Any help appreciated. THanks!

sudo apt-get install python-software-properties pkg-config
[b]sudo add-apt-repository -r ppa:whatever-ppa-you-have-now
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:whatever-ppa-here
[/b]
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc.bin
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,774
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 142
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #104
You know what ppa you have by looking at /etc/apt/sources.d/ or something like that or by knowing how you installed XBMC to begin with.

That wiki entry is simply telling you you need to remove one ppa containing xbmc and enter another so you dont have two ppa sources offering versions of xbmc and potentially break something.

This should take care of it.

Code:
sudo add-apt-repository -r ppa:team-xbmc/unstable
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:team-xbmc/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get remove xbmc xbmc.bin
sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc.bin

However because your upgrading from V11 you likely run into troubles so see XBMC_v12_(Frodo)_FAQ#What_might_break_when_upgrading_to_v12.3F_.28add-ons.2C_skins.2C_remotes.2C_etc.29

If I were you I would backup userdata and rename guisettings.xml before upgrading and remove the addons you had previously too. Only thing you want to bring in is your Databases from inside userdata

That is more likely to give you less issues, then again you may have none.

uNi
find quote
FlyingNun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #105
Thank you for the help! I will try this once I get home
find quote
Post Reply