H.265 codec standard, the successor of H.264

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
PatK Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,537
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 79
Location: Canada
Post: #1
Here's the announcement

http://www.itu.int/net/pressoffice/press...QPg4c087Jm

Some of the community reacts.

http://yro.slashdot.org/story/13/01/26/1...essor-h265
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 22,469
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 296
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #2
Very awesome.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,508
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #3
boring Smile


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
DJ_Izumi Offline
Fan
Posts: 559
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 4
Post: #4
This is exactly why I upgraded the CPU in my 'big' HTPC to a A8-3870K, so that it could decode h.265/HEVC on the CPU.

Now everybody start nagging the devs for h.265/HEVC support!
find quote
mr.sparkle Offline
Fan
Posts: 421
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #5
Meh, I'll wait for H.266
find quote
CutSickAss Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 34
Location: Greece
Post: #6
h.265... I wonder how long it took them to decide on that name!
find quote
KingJoffeJoffer Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
DJ Izumi, how does that A8 handle 1080p 10-bit encodes? I'm thinking about picking up an Arctic m101 with an A8 in it. Am I in the clear or should I go for the core i3? Do you think it will be able to handle h.265 as well?
find quote
DJ_Izumi Offline
Fan
Posts: 559
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 4
Post: #8
(2013-05-10 01:34)KingJoffeJoffer Wrote:  DJ Izumi, how does that A8 handle 1080p 10-bit encodes? I'm thinking about picking up an Arctic m101 with an A8 in it. Am I in the clear or should I go for the core i3? Do you think it will be able to handle h.265 as well?

Currently stock XBMC builds do not support multithreading, the A8-3870k has enough power in a single core to do 10bit 1080p 99% of the time. Dropped frames are seen in scenes that are exceptionally noisy, like with a lot fake static on the video or something like that. In a nightly with multithreaded software decoding even the most insane 10bit 1080p encodes play smooth as silk. While useless to most, those nighties also decode LOSSLESS h.264 smoothly as well, but uses around 50% the entire CPU.

I have high hopes that this CPU will do 1080p h.265 on CPU as well. ...4K is likely to be an issue. Tongue
find quote
Ireshine Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Divx has just release a convert and player for H.265 HEVC, So far the converting takes ages and only there player supports it, (for now), very good compress without loss, but more tests need to be done.
find quote
GrndZero Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: US-NC
Post: #10
I have been using my A8 3850 APU for close to a year and have not run into any issues. I will see about downloading the new Divx converter and try this out also.


*edit - I have the new DIVX 10 with the HEVC profile and I did use the checkbox to install the HEVC plugin on install. I can not get the converter to work yet. Once I start to encode, it crashes every time. I also can not get the converter to encode to .mp4/.mkv any longer with just Divx HD either. The only file containing it will give me at the end is .divx. It is starting to tick me off a little as it was working fine in version 9.
Trying to use the divx forums is futile from the looks.

~ A8 3850 APU | 8gig Corsair | Antec 2400 NSK | Win7x64 | Gyration MC remote | 42" Samsung
(This post was last modified: 2013-09-16 13:54 by GrndZero.)
find quote
furii Offline
Fan
Posts: 488
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 12
Post: #11
wasn't sure which h265 thread to throw this in but ffmpeg now has support in the master branch:

https://launchpad.net/ffmpeg/+announcement/12062
find quote
Sesshoumaru Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #12
Will this push make it into Gotham? If I remember correctly XBMC incorporated ffmpeg 1.2 recently.
Would be interessting to know what power a CPU must have to decode a top notch 1080p video (at least L4 / High Tier) - rumor say 50% of 2.9 GHz quadcore - for 4k (L5 / High Tier) they are talking about a 90% of a 3.2 GHz hexa-core.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 12,181
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 170
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #13
no

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
Sesshoumaru Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #14
(2013-10-27 21:53)Martijn Wrote:  no

Don't be shy and say "yes" Angel .. just kidding.
find quote
DJ_Izumi Offline
Fan
Posts: 559
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 4
Post: #15
(2013-10-16 18:33)furii Wrote:  wasn't sure which h265 thread to throw this in but ffmpeg now has support in the master branch:

https://launchpad.net/ffmpeg/+announcement/12062

Well, it'll be about another day before the Anime encoding community attempts to entirely switch to this and two days before XBMC users start going 'Why can't XBMC play this!?'.

:/
find quote
Post Reply