[RELEASE] Steam Launcher - Start Steam Big Picture Mode from within Kodi

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 4.43 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
brywithawhy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Question  RE: [RELEASE] Steam Launcher - Start Steam Big Picture Mode from within Kodi
Post: #1111
Is this supposed to work when you use the Kodi desktop environment in Ubuntu 16.04?

When using the Ubuntu desktop environment it works ok (except Steam BPM seems to crash after exiting a game - different issue)

But when I use the Kodi desktop environment, I get the Error check kodi.log for details. To start it I have to disable the check for wmctrl option. After launching, Kodi exits as it should, BPM starts, and during the startup animation Kodi launches over the top of it again and crashes the system.

Appreciate any help,

-bry
find quote
teeedubb Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,362
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 97
Location: Down Under
Post: #1112
First post has a section in it with the heading in bold font and labelled 'Linux users'. Read that.
find quote
Steel99 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1113
(2013-04-26 23:55)teeedubb Wrote:  But launching games and emulators over xbmc has always give me problems - xbmc accepting controller inputs while games are playing, games/emulators having no sound, xbmc not getting focus on game exit and xbmc using a significant amount of cpu. Do you not get this problem?

I would try changing the second line in default.py to this

os.system('taskkill /f /IM XBMC.exe && timeout 1 && E:\Steam\steam.exe -bigpicture && timeout 1 && C:\path\to\XBMC.exe') to have xbmc killed, steam launched and when exited xbmc is relaunched.

Hi teeedubb,
this quote is from the first page of this thread and i have exactly these problems when launching programs.

I am desperately looking for an addon, that can start windows executables, exit kodi and restart it, after the executable is quit. In my special case i want to start Hyperspin (you should know it as author of hyper launcher) from Kodi. I have tried a lot the last days. Advanced Launcher and its successor Advanced Emulator Launcher, Rom Collection Browser .....and none works well. Sometimes i had no audio in Hyperspin, or i needed to switch to window mode in Kodi, then i did not get back focus after relaunching Kodi or got no "add to favorites" function and so on and on.....and of course Kodi needs resources, when running in background.

So my question is, can't i use the Steam Launcher with some modification to launch Hyperspin? But one thing i also need, is the possibility to add this to the kodi favorites, so that i can launch Hyperspin from kodi main menu.

Or maybe there is another solution?

I use Windows 7 and Kodi 16.1 as shell (instead of explorer) with Aeon MQ7 skin. By the way, exiting Kodi would be enough, because i think i could restart it from within Hyperspin (exit script)....

Thank you for an answer.

Steel99
find quote
teeedubb Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,362
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 97
Location: Down Under
Post: #1114
Here you go... from when I used HS Wink

https://www.dropbox.com/s/7lwer51fd7clce...r.zip?dl=0

You need to edit hslauncher.bat to suit your install paths.
find quote
Steel99 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1115
Thank you.

This gets me a step further.

But 2 things do not work:
First it does not start kodi after exiting Hyperspin....but this is not a real problem, cause i just configured HS to launch Kodi after exit.
So it worked well .....if i start kodi after booting to Windows Desktop.

Second one: As i said, i use Kodi as shell instead of explorer (done this with the tool Launch4Kodi). If i boot directly into Kodi, your script does not work and gives an error in Advanced Launcher.

Here is the relevant part of the kodi log:
Code:
12:22:20 T:3324   ERROR: XFILE::CDirectory::GetDirectory - Error getting
12:22:22 T:3844   ERROR: Previous line repeats 1 times.
12:22:22 T:3844   ERROR: EXCEPTION Thrown (PythonToCppException) : -->Python callback/script returned the following error<--
                                             - NOTE: IGNORING THIS CAN LEAD TO MEMORY LEAKS!
                                            Error Type: <type 'exceptions.KeyError'>
                                            Error Contents: ('727fad328cc3584e1caa2bc9fc2ede18',)
                                            Traceback (most recent call last):
                                              File "C:\Users\xbox\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\plugin.program.advanced.launcher\addon​.py", line 20, in <module>
                                                plugin.Main()
                                              File "C:\Users\xbox\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\plugin.program.advanced.launcher\resou​rces\lib\launcher_plugin.py", line 207, in __init__
                                                if (self.launchers[launcher]["rompath"] == ""):
                                            KeyError: ('727fad328cc3584e1caa2bc9fc2ede18',)
                                            -->End of Python script error report<--
12:22:22 T:2428   ERROR: PlayMedia could not play media: plugin://plugin.program.advanced.launcher/?default/727fad328cc3584e1caa2bc9fc2ede18

xbox is my windows user name ....chosen this after changeover from my old xbox Wink

Maybe you can see something or maybe it can just not work without explorer....but i had launched HS also with advanced launcher without an error before.
find quote
teeedubb Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,362
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 97
Location: Down Under
Post: #1116
The link I posted is a addon, it works independently of AL - Install the zip file in kodi and it will show up under programs. It works with without the explorer shell running, thats how I use kodi on windows. If youre running kodi via HS you need to remove the line in hslauncher.bat that launches kodi.
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-23 14:06 by teeedubb.)
find quote
Steel99 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1117
I have everything done, as you said....and i just tested a little more. You are right, it has nothing to do with explorer shell, the problem is the favorites. If i start it from programs folder it works, if i start from main menu, the error occurs.
So i have to find out the problem ....i had used a favorite from AL before at same position and name, maybe there is some garbage left.

Thank you for your effort.
find quote
Steel99 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1118
ok..

The problem was the background image, the same i used before with AL. I changed it and then it worked. Then i restarted Kodi and replaced the image with the one before and it worked, too.

Next problem is, that i configured Launch4Kodi to start explorer shell on exit of Kodi. So when i use your addon, first explorer is launched and then HS. I don't like that.
I will try to modify your addon, so it will install with another name and will launch explorer. Then i will configure Launch4Kodi to not start explorer and i will start it, if needed, with the modified addon manually.
It's a little bit complicated, but hey Smile

Edit:
Yeah, got it! ...It works great now. Thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-23 15:53 by Steel99.)
find quote
Post Reply