brand new to Xbmc. Gbox Midnight or Raspberry Pi for first box?
Hi,

I am brand new to XBMC. I was tempted to get a Gbox Midnight, and run direct in XBMC (not android) but I am not sure if this is powerful enough to run xbmc (mainly stream from internet - wired connection to 720p picture). Would I be better with a raspberry pi (is it as powerful as the midnight?). If I then grow out of the raspberry, I can reconfigure it to run as a NAS service with my usb drive (and no be redundant).

Has anyone used both the raspberry, and midnight? Any recommendations?
I would suggest looking in the Hardware forum and if you need to posting in there.

http://forum.xbmc.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=112

Not tried the Gbox, but I have a RPi. Do not hesitate to ask me if you want to know something.
I don't really understand the draw of the Gbox Midnight. As far as I am aware, no actual Team XBMC member has one so the support level is going to be pretty low and at least on Amazon they seem to cost the same as a Pivos XIOS, which virtually every member of the team has. Maybe there's some marketing campaign that I'm unaware of? I'd honestly love to hear what Gbox is doing to interest so many people.
IIRC, Gbox is still having issues getting their XBMC builds to output higher than 720 output.
(2013-03-30, 19:00)natethomas Wrote: I don't really understand the draw of the Gbox Midnight. As far as I am aware, no actual Team XBMC member has one so the support level is going to be pretty low and at least on Amazon they seem to cost the same as a Pivos XIOS, which virtually every member of the team has. Maybe there's some marketing campaign that I'm unaware of? I'd honestly love to hear what Gbox is doing to interest so many people.

I have been think the same with the influx of threads created.
Get Pivos and install xbmc linux ( not android) ...

Ras is a good option too..

Just avoid everything that has not appropriate support :)