Total newbie with questions
Hello All

Just signed up as I'm hoping that XBMC is the solution I'm looking for. I really hope it is after the amazing reviews I've been reading about it.

Soooo....

Currently, I have all my music on my Ready NAS Duo box and I want to be able to play this music from multiple devices. I can see that XBMC can handle this perfectly ok, but I do have a couple of questions. I had thought that maybe pc's and tablets will be able to just play the music after XBMC is installed on each device. In the wiki, this comment "When your collection is scanned, XBMC stores all the tagging information (artist, album, year, genre, etc) in the database" leads me to believe that a database must exist somewhere. Could someone please explain to me where that database is held? Does it mean that I should have a pc as a main controller which will have the database on it and pointing to the NAS drive and then all my other devices communicate to that pc? Or, is the database held on the NAS drive meaning no controller type pc is needed? Also, when the scan is made, are the existing music files changed in any way? I only ask as they may wish to be played from elsewhere in their current format (xbox).

I hope all that makes sense and I would welcome any further info from this. If this is elsewhere in the wiki that I may have missed, then I apologise now but I am unable to find it.

Thank you all for your time. I'm hoping this is my solution!

Kind regards,
Michael
You have two choices, by default XBMC creates a local database on the machine it is installed on.
This means you would have multiple database which is in itself nothing bad but results in a need to update all databases by themselves each time your collection changes.

An alternative would be to set up a centralized database which is pretty much what you described.