Linux Ubuntu 14.04 XBMC Video Problem
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to XBMC and Ubuntu and I have a question about some video problems I've been having.

My setup is running on an Intel 2 duo machine with 2gb of ram and an Nvidia GeForce 210 video card. I'm am running the media from a win 7 machine and the files are shared using SMB.

Whenever I play a media file (mostly those with 5.1 audio and 1080p video) the video starts off stuttering with no audio. If I press pause for a few sec then press play the video plays nice and smooth with audio.

Also, once going, videos will randomly freeze and stop. I can usually restart it and it will play just fine. It seems to be random. I can even fast forward to the point where it froze and the video will continue to play just fine.

Here is my debug file. http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=189201

Hope this makes since to someone.

Thanks for the help
Install a proper build (Gotham rc1) from our unstable PPA
Hi wsnipex,

Ok, I'll see if I can install Gotham tonight. This is all new to me, so I may be back with questions on how to install.

Thanks.
Just read Team XBMC PPA (wiki)
Thanks for the info. I'll try that when I get back home on monday.
Looks like Gotham went stable so the install was easy. My HD videos load and play no problem now, although I still get random video pauses after playing for a few hours.

It doesn't completely shut off the video like in Frodo though. I'll keep an eye on it, but it seems to be some kind of buffer issue that only shows up after playing videos for a while.
Debug Log will help if it occurs again.
First decide what functions / features you expect from a system. Then decide for the hardware. Don't waste your money on crap.
It happened again today. Seems to be random. I forgot to turn the debug log on so I'll catch it next time I watch something.

I stream my video files through a Windows SMB server, so I wonder if that has anything to do with it? Does Linux and XBMC not get along well with SMB sharing?