Set subtitle filepath via JSON-RPC
Hello,

I really like XBMC and have great respect for its developers. I've been working with audio/visual transcoding for like 10 years, and as a software developer I know that you guys have a lot of work on your hands!

My current project would greatly benefit from being able to specify a filepath to a subtitle via the JSON-RPC protocol (I am using TCP). I'm doing some processing on the file after downloading it and would like to push those changes back to XBMC while the show is running, if possible (I make the changes in an external file once after the subtitle is downloaded and would like to switch to the processed copy one time).

That is:
  1. Add movie/download subtitles
  2. The TCP listener I wrote will see the subtitle file, make a copy
  3. The TCP listener will make changes to the copy
  4. The TCP listener will tell XBMC to switch to using the copy it made

Is there a better way of handling this, or would this feature be possible? I would be willing to implement it myself, if that is allowed.
You want to edit an external subtitle file as the video is playing?
I am so sorry for taking so long to reply. This has been a huge project.

My goal is to actually just display subtitle text on the screen. However, the text needs to be set dynamically via JSON-RPC. My dream situation would be to say, for instance, "Hey, playerid:1, show message:"SOME TEXT" from timespan:'00:00:10,234' to timespan:'00:00:14,432'!". However, I know that XBMC does not support that without writing a python plugin, and even then I am not sure I could get it to hook into JSON-RPC.

So, I settled on using srt files. Currently, I'm monitoring movies as they are added and pre-processing the files. The functionality is much more limited than I had planned (but MUCH better than if I had to write the whole media player myself... you guys are amazing!)