2in1 NAS/HTPC
Hi,

Is there a good quality price option for a NAS with HDMI and XBMC integrated? I'm thniking for example to Asustor AS-302T

thanks
I built a mini-itx PC running Linux.
I'm rather find a pre-built NAS/HTPC
Yeah i'm looking for one too.
Qnap.com for the x86 machines there is an optional pachage with xbmc
I have a lot of experience with XBMC and NAS drives. I would have to say that wanting to run it directly from the drive sounds great but does not translate well in practice. The QNap TS-669L can do it but playback is terrible and limited. If you go with a lower cost NAS and use Fire TV or similar type device you'll get much better performance and no much extra space used up. And for the ultimate All-In-One just sit the Fire TV on top of the NAS an you've accomplished your goal with a much better performing system. I'm joking about the last part sort of.
Thanks for the feedback, the all-in-one option is more to avoid cables, having to start different hardware etc. but if there is no good option....

So basically I should buy a my cloud mirror from WD and find something to support HBMC?
It really depends on your overall requirements - IMO, building your own seems like the right answer given your description - but if you have 20TB of usable storage configured as RAID-2 then it'll never fit in anything smaller than a mATX case, plus you'll need expansion slots for all the extra SATA ports so that probalby means ATX. That may not now meet your expectations of a HTPC because it's now bigger than your television. On the other hand, if you have little local data and have physical (shiny disc) backups then you might only need one or two internal drives, so a small form factor would work. You also have fans to worry about with multiple HDDs, which could get in the way of your filmic entertainment unless you're made of money and have an all-SSD setup.