It would be very helpful to Standardize Projects and Documentation
Ok i want to say this up front although I have been writing code for 25 years
I will probably never be a major contributor to either the core or plugins.

I am also writing this with the understanding much or most of what I am writing has already been thought of by many people here.

I am an End User and I don't see that changing.

Unfortunately for many reasons (family, work and such) I just don't have time to contribute in an on going basis like I have for other projects of this type like RedHat 1996 to 2001, WordPress1x to 3.3, Drupal until their split and a handful of others.

If I do write any code or contribute its going to be a one off .. here ya go.. have fun with it.. deal.

But after reviewing this project as I am implementing it in my home I am finding that you are not taking full advantage of your resources and developers. Mostly this is do to how projects are managed.

I think this is very unfortunate because not only do you have a large number of users you also have some very talented developers. We are not talking about a simple php app that lets you post pictures of your cat to a website..

This is a multi-platform project that requires knowledge in areas that can be the most complex uses of multimedia found in computing.. heh seriously .. You know better than I do all the pieces it takes to implement this project and its something that no individual or even a small group could do alone or if so not very well.

But you got to get a grasp on your developers.

Standardize how code is submitted.
The formats that it is available to end users.
The location that the files are held and if there are mirrors.
The documentation required for each submission.

Specifically I am talking about plugins and documentation not the core project but you might want to apply some of those standards to the core too.

When I search for a plugin for Kodi I am finding
They are difficult to find