5" Waveshare 800x480 Display flickers
Hello community,

i'm pretty new to the RPi. I bought a starter kit consisting of a RPi2 and a 5" Waveshare 800x480 Display with Touchscreen. The main Goal was to try out kodi and a few more things. The kit runs pretty perfect with Raspbian, but when it comes down to Kodi the Installation runs without Problems. But starting kodi results in a flickering Display - any solution available?
Just ask if you Need more Details.

Greetings
tswimmer
What I'd check first is to make sure it's being provided enough power.
I see this too on a generic eBay display that is 800x480, and just in Kodi. I figure it just needs some other HDMI mode set or something. I can't test it at the moment because I'm soldering a wired connection directly to the HDMI port for a portable game project ;)
When running successfully with raspbian, what does "tvservice -s" report? Then when kodi is runnning and flickering what does "tvservice -s" report?
ok, I try to provied the Information as good as possible:
@ActionA - as the Display indicates low power with a coloured square in the upper right Corner - and this is never present, i assume that teh power is good enough (5.2V 2A PSU)
@popcornmix - in raspbian the Report is:
state 0x120016 [DVI DMT (87) RGB full 15:9], 800x480 @ 59.00Hz, progressive
while running kodi, i don't get a Shell, but after quiting kodi the result is:
state 0x12001a [HDMI DMT (87) RGB full 15:9], 800x480 @ 59.00Hz, progressive (the Screen is no longer flickering, but it Looks somewhat blurred and Shows pinkish lines on the left and upper border
- i hope this is a step Forward
The raspbian/kodi tvservice states look pretty similar.
Can you add "hdmi_drive=2" to the raspbian image and that should make the states match exactly. Then confirm that doesn't cause any issue with raspbian.