Visualisation in Jarvis

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
D.K. Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,
I can not get any visualization after updating to 16.0 Jarvis. In 15 Isengard i have fishbmc and a few other.
My os is KodiBuntu with every updates.
My HTPC:
Asus AT3IONT-I
atom 330 + Nvidia ION
4GB RAM
find quote
fruitgull Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I'm also wondering about this. No music visualization is included in 16.0 it seems.
According to the change log they were moved to addons:

"Moved some binary (RSXS) Screensavers and Audio Visualizations (Vis) to addons"

But I can't find them anywhere.
Can anyone help?
find quote
PatK Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 7,593
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 191
Location: Canada
Post: #3
Check in settings>add-ons>MY add-ons>Look and Feel>visualization

[Image: niHDHbR.jpg]


Jarvis 16

windows fresh start -> delete C:\Users\User Name\AppData\Roaming\Kodi First time user (wiki) Log file (wiki) Video management (wiki) Artwork (wiki) Supported hardware (wiki) Releases (wiki) Database versions (wiki) Skin features compatibility list (wiki) http://xbmc-skins.com
find quote
Dokusan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 2
Post: #4
Same here. no more visualizations.
under "My Addons > Look and Feel"
I have:
GUI Sounds
Image collections
Languages
Screensaver
Skin

Jarvis 16 with Confluence.
The same happens in two different Xubuntu computers.
(This post was last modified: 2016-02-22 23:35 by Dokusan.)
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 16,598
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 297
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #5
Have you actually installed/upgraded the Addons from ppa?

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
find quote
Dokusan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 2
Post: #6
Uhhh... no, actually it didn't occurred to me that I had to install kodi-visualization-* from ppa. I must've missed some imformation. Thanks for your help!
find quote
fruitgull Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Thanks!
I installed kodi-visualization-*. But only waveform and shadertoy visualisations work. The other (inluding projectM) does not show anything on-screen (but they are shown in the list of vis'). Computer restarted. Same problem
find quote
dnairb Offline
Donor
Posts: 196
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 6
Post: #8
There is an issue with the installation of the kodi-visualisation-*s, in that they are installed to the wrong directory. This has been reported: http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/16561

In the meantime, you can run in terminal:

Code:
sudo mv /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/addons/* /usr/lib/kodi/addons/

which will move the relevant files to the correct folder.
(This post was last modified: 2016-02-23 11:37 by dnairb.)
find quote
fruitgull Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2016-02-23 11:28)dnairb Wrote:  There is an issue with the installation of the kodi-visualisation-*s, in that they are installed to the wrong directory. This has been reported: http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/16561

In the meantime, you can run in terminal:

Code:
sudo mv /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/addons/* /usr/lib/kodi/addons/

which will move the relevant files to the correct folder.

Works perfectly! Thank you very much for your prompt answer!

Also "maximum" quality setting for projectM now works Smile Didn't work for my in the last versions of Kodi.
(This post was last modified: 2016-02-23 12:25 by fruitgull.)
find quote
StuXP Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Hi

I noticed this too, so thanks for the explanation.

Unfortunately, in my case, the misplaced addons folder /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/addons/ is not there. How can I get hold of the correct files so that I can move them to /usr/lib/kodi/addons/ ?

Also, I wonder if any has experienced this Kodi music playback behaviour:

In previous versions, once I started playing a music file, the screen would change after a few seconds to show the playback bar/information, album art and artist picture, etc. Now it doesn't. I have to manually go to Full Screen. I was wondering if this is by design or another bug.

Thanks!

S
(This post was last modified: 2016-02-23 14:59 by StuXP.)
find quote
D.K. Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Everything works good now. Thanks
find quote
AllanM Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
(2016-02-23 14:59)StuXP Wrote:  ....Unfortunately, in my case, the misplaced addons folder /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/addons/ is not there. How can I get hold of the correct files so that I can move them to /usr/lib/kodi/addons/ ?.....

I too have this problem, waveform installed fine, but no sign of ProjectM
find quote
dnairb Offline
Donor
Posts: 196
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 6
Post: #13
(2016-02-23 14:59)StuXP Wrote:  Hi

I noticed this too, so thanks for the explanation.

Unfortunately, in my case, the misplaced addons folder /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/addons/ is not there. How can I get hold of the correct files so that I can move them to /usr/lib/kodi/addons/ ?

Also, I wonder if any has experienced this Kodi music playback behaviour:

In previous versions, once I started playing a music file, the screen would change after a few seconds to show the playback bar/information, album art and artist picture, etc. Now it doesn't. I have to manually go to Full Screen. I was wondering if this is by design or another bug.

Thanks!

S


There may well be a different folder in you case, perhaps i386-linux-gnu/addons (or at least {something}-Linux-gnu)
Just use the folder name on your system in the command I gave above.

Regarding your second issue: this may be due to your screensaver settings, i.e. "use visualisation when playing music" or similar setting.
find quote
StuXP Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Thanks for the info.

I can't locate that folder anywhere...

S
find quote
Stormageddon Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
My trouble is the visualizers are listed, files have been coppied to the right place, but I get a black screen with ProjectM.....
(This post was last modified: 2016-03-02 07:48 by Stormageddon.)
find quote
Post Reply