Mini PC recommendation
I have been using a media centre PC for 8 years and the time has come to replace it.

The current setup runs Windows 8.1, Media Centre (supporting PVR) and has dual digital free-to-air TV tuners, 5.1 audio with optical output to my amplifier, and HDMI output to the monitor. I have considered upgrading to Windows 10 and reinstalling MCE - but I am also running Kodi now and figured this is a better platform long-term as I should be able to use it as the single interface for all media activity (including web streaming) on the right box.

What I'm looking for is a mini-PC with much the same hardware:
  • enough solid state storage for PVR,
  • dual digital free-to-air TV tuners
  • 5.1 audio
  • hi-res video with HDMI output
  • 4 USB 3 ports for peripherals
  • wifi connectivity

I've been trawling the forums here and haven't really found anything suitable (no doubt have been looking in wrong place but my searches haven't really turned up anything useful). There are a lot of specs for similar machines (like Nvidia_SHIELD_Android_TV) but these generally don't provide for digital free-to-air TV tuners.

From Google searches I've found these options:
but while they seem to have the hardware I'm after I haven't liked the reviews and if there's one thing that's come through clearly from reading posts on these forums, using hardware that is recommended/trusted/"supported" by Kodi users is critical.

As you can see I'm not attached to Windows OS. I do want reliable and am happy to install/configure software but not build hardware.

I recall reading in one post that Kodi doesn't yet support 5.1 audio - is this correct? It works fine on my current system...

Very keen to hear from anyone in Australia using a system similar to what I have described above.
How about an external dual networked tuner from SiliconDust? Then you will have more options.

https://www.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/