TVHeadend 4.0 setup guide

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
zag Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,006
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 75
Location: UK
Post: #1
I've written a new guide to setting up TVheadend here:

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2315547

I'll try to transfer to the wiki at some point as well.

Feel free to suggest any improvements to the guide.
(This post was last modified: 2016-04-20 11:14 by zag.)
find quote
zag Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,006
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 75
Location: UK
Post: #2
One thing I would say is that TVheadend has a terrible setup procedure.

Its nice once its working, but damn that UI and initial workflow needs some improvement!

I'd suggest a setup wizard for new adapters.
find quote
marathone Offline
Banned
Posts: 27
Joined: Nov 2015
Location: Toronto
Post: #3
(2016-04-20 11:15)zag Wrote:  One thing I would say is that TVheadend has a terrible setup procedure.

Its nice once its working, but damn that UI and initial workflow needs some improvement!

I'd suggest a setup wizard for new adapters.

Damn straight about that. I've had it installed before and it saw my hardware pvr, but damn if I could figure out how to get it working. I'll try with your guide very soon. Thanks for this work!
find quote
cable_guy Offline
Fan
Posts: 324
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: England
Post: #4
Thanks for the guide. First time i've seen this LIBREelec, I currently host my TVheadend server on my KODIBuntu box, is there any benefit of moving to LibreElec in your opinion? I quite like how the server component has been made to look simple through an addon, whereas i've previously installed it via command line.

Bedroom rig: HP N40L Microserver - 16.1 Kodibuntu & TVheadend

Lounge rig: Amazon Fire TV SPMC 15
find quote
zag Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,006
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 75
Location: UK
Post: #5
(2016-05-04 13:21)cable_guy Wrote:  Thanks for the guide. First time i've seen this LIBREelec, I currently host my TVheadend server on my KODIBuntu box, is there any benefit of moving to LibreElec in your opinion? I quite like how the server component has been made to look simple through an addon, whereas i've previously installed it via command line.

I've got it on the openELEC box and its nice and quick, can't comment on the server thing as i've never tried it.
find quote
Prof Yaffle Offline
Team-Kodi Mumbler
Posts: 2,642
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 77
Location: An increasingly isolated island off the north-west European coast.
Post: #6
@zag - you know that the the current master (and hence next release) has a setup wizard, right? Your guide is for 4.0.9, which is the current stable - but I thought LE was bundling a later pull from master anyway:

https://github.com/LibreELEC/LibreELEC.t...vheadend42
find quote
mcelliott Offline
Fan
Posts: 377
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 5
Post: #7
Hi,

Something I haven't seen mentioned in the guide is setting up locations to save TV recordings and use for timeshifting. I plan to use a Raspberry Pi as a TV server, so space will be very limited. Can you set it to use a Windows SMB share to save recordings to and use for timeshifting?

Thanks,

Mark
find quote
Prof Yaffle Offline
Team-Kodi Mumbler
Posts: 2,642
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 77
Location: An increasingly isolated island off the north-west European coast.
Post: #8
@mcelliott - yes, so long as you can mount the SMB share to the Pi before tvheadend starts (or, more accurately, tries to access the location, which is effectively the same things as it would access the recording directory to check the status of previous recordings).

Once the share is mounted, the OS sees it as local storage, as that's how Linux filesystems work. Tvheadend thus sees it as a local directory, and has no knowledge of the network connection in between.
find quote
mcelliott Offline
Fan
Posts: 377
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 5
Post: #9
(2016-05-10 21:33)Prof Yaffle Wrote:  @mcelliott - yes, so long as you can mount the SMB share to the Pi before tvheadend starts (or, more accurately, tries to access the location, which is effectively the same things as it would access the recording directory to check the status of previous recordings).

Once the share is mounted, the OS sees it as local storage, as that's how Linux filesystems work. Tvheadend thus sees it as a local directory, and has no knowledge of the network connection in between.

Thanks for the answer. I'll dig around into mounting SMB shares in OpenELEC for RPi. I'm sure it's not too difficult.

Best wishes,

Mark
find quote
wurlizer1928 Offline
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
"Thanks for the answer. I'll dig around into mounting SMB shares in OpenELEC for RPi. I'm sure it's not too difficult."
================================================================================​=
Did you ever find a nice step by step procedure to mount SMB shares prior to OpenElec starting?

I had tried on a RPi3 using LibreElec to run both the KODI client and TVHeadend/backend but never got a picture which could be viewed.

I eventually erased the SD card, reloaded LibreElec, and used ServerWMC running on my laptop as my backend. It works perfectly but I don't want the laptop on 24/7 so I'd be perfectly willing to buy another RPi3 and install LibreElec and just use the TVHeadend/backend for my live/PVR server. I would not need the client running.

I'd like to use my 2TB NAS for storage of recorded TV.

Being a Linux ignoramus I do need a good step by step as so many things on linux are given missing a critical step. It is like a bomb disposal instruction which says, cut the red wire................ but not after cutting the blue wire.
(This post was last modified: 2016-08-15 20:09 by wurlizer1928.)
find quote
zag Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,006
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 75
Location: UK
Post: #11
Yep check my guide here for changing the recording location to a network share

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2393114
find quote
wurlizer1928 Offline
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Thanks zag, I'll check your link out.
find quote
clarkss12 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #13
Since I am a complete noob with Linux, I created a "cheat sheet" for myself for mounting my NFS share on my Synology NAS. I am running my tvheadend server on my $30 MK808B Plus running LibreELEC (originally OpenELEC) and my recording destination is a directory on my older DS211j Synology NAS. Since my LibreELEC shows up in windows explorer on my Windows 7 machine, it makes it very to easy setup. I am constantly changing things, I use my "cheat sheet" to install tvheadend and it doesn't take me very long to get everything setup and working. Since all the LibreELEC files and folders show up under windows explorer, I only have to use Putty once or twice. Anyway, if interested, here is my "cheat sheet", obviously, you will have to use your own IP addresses of your NAS.

The easy way to mount NAS,
1. open windows explorer, go to openELEC in network directory
2. copy "autostart.sh" file into the root of configfiles directory.
3. go to system.d folder from Configfiles folder.
4. copy and paste storage-myrecordings.mount
5. copy and paste storage-recordings.mount

6. reboot OpenELEC box.
7. open putty and paste this into the root of OpenELEC.
systemctl >> systemctl enable storage-myrecordings.mount

8. Under the recording profile in the web browser use this for the recording path
/storage/myrecordings

all there is to it.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
all autostart.sh is, is a text file with this code.
mount -t nfs 192.168.1.74:/volume1/myrecordings /storage/myrecordings -o rw,nolock

echo 0 > /sys/class/amhdmitx/amhdmitx0/cec_config

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
all the storage-myrecordings.mount is, is a text file with this

[Unit]
Description=test nfs mount
Requires=network-online.service
After=network-online.service
Before=kodi.service
#Before=xbmc.service

[Mount]
#enter in the share and place it will mount to
What=192.168.1.74:/volume1/myrecordings
Where=/storage/myrecordings
Options=
Type=nfs

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
(This post was last modified: 2016-08-16 03:40 by clarkss12.)
find quote
wurlizer1928 Offline
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Thank you very much Clarkss12. I'll keep this on hand.
find quote
clarkss12 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #15
(2016-08-17 18:46)wurlizer1928 Wrote:  Thank you very much Clarkss12. I'll keep this on hand.

Did it help?
find quote
Post Reply