Interested in how add ons reimburse movie makers
I am new to Kodi, I get the fact Kodi is not the bad guy here so this isn't another kodi bashing thread. I like to do the right thing and I am a fan of the Arts, I believe Artists who work hard to build something should get recognised for that financially. I get that Kodi is just a front end and the likes of Exodus and Phoenix etc are the ones who provide the movie content (for example). I am interested in a) how these providers get their content, and b) if they give any $$royalties back to the movie makers/Artists every time someone streams one of their films via Kodi??

p.s. I'm not the FBI, I am just a movie fan who wants Kodi to survive, and also wants the movie makers to get paid so everyone wins!!!
They don't reimburse at all - they use pirated illegal sources, hence why we don't allow discussions of them here.

Content will be rips of press preview/review DVDs and that kind of stuff, or at the lowest end some monkey with a camera taking a movie of a movie. It's the normal torrent-style piracy mechanism that have been around for years, with those add-ons just offering a linkage and front-end to get them into Kodi (unfortunately).
|Banned add-ons (wiki)|Forum rules (wiki)|VPN policy (wiki)|First time user (wiki)|FAQs (wiki) Troubleshooting (wiki)|Add-ons (wiki)|Free content (wiki)|Debug Log (wiki)|

Kodi Blog Posts
ok that's what I suspected. That's a shame.

No such thing as a free lunch I guess!!

M
There is many legitimate web sites that offer videos that are free to look, in the public domain, or copyright has fallen etc. The add-ons within Kodi's official repository, have been vetted. Looking at streaming videos on open legitimate web sites, with a web browser is desirable from the web sites point of view.