v17 Black screen after startup
I have the second generation fire stick with the most up to date OS. I downloaded Kodi 17.1 and installed. When I ran Kodi the screen turn black immediately after the splash screen. I can hear the clicks of the menu items, but cannot see anything. Can anyone help? Or should I just stick with Jarvis?
I just upgraded to the latest RC and its working fine. Which file did you download?
I'm new to kodi and am still learning. After watching a few videos on YouTube,
I downloaded: kodi-17.1-Kriptin_rc1armeabi-v7a.apk under the Current Release Kodi: v17.1 "krypton" release candidate.
Possibly a skin update in progress? Can take a good few mins.

Sent from my X15
Nope, don't think so. Black screen for over 20 minutes
I'm having the exact same problem.
Try a fresh install with the nightly 32 bit file and see if you still have the problem.
Thanks for the suggestion, but I'm still having the same issue.
Have you tried a factory restore of the fire stick, then install a fresh copy of the RC?
I tried with no luck
How about different displays? And if you load 16 back on, all works fine?
16 works fine. How do I change display? Would it be in the Firestick settings? Firestick would allow me to select a different refresh rate because they are not compatible with my tv. TV is 13 years old by the way.
(2017-03-09, 23:06)Turtlehonu77 Wrote: 16 works fine. How do I change display? Would it be in the Firestick settings? Firestick would allow me to select a different refresh rate because they are not compatible with my tv. TV is 13 years old by the way.

I mean try plugging your stick into a different display.. that way you can rule out the tv.
Friends, neighbours, parents, TV's at work?

The fire stick is rather portable Wink
|Banned add-ons (wiki)|Forum rules (wiki)|VPN policy (wiki)|First time user (wiki)|FAQs (wiki) Troubleshooting (wiki)|Add-ons (wiki)|Free content (wiki)|Debug Log (wiki)|

Kodi Blog Posts