Extend the scraper interpeter/engine to scrape for subtitles
Lightbulb 
I suspect this have been sugested or though of before...
How about a Subtitle scrapper thing, something like the undertexter script and opensubtitles.org, seeing the maintainer like XBMC we could probably get quite a good support from it?
If you have problems please read this before posting

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

"Well Im gonna download the code and look at it a bit but I'm certainly not a really good C/C++ programer but I'd help as much as I can, I mostly write in C#."
I like the idea, ...though as I am not a programmer I am not sure if it will we easier or harder to maintain such an API and subtitle scrapers for subtitles than the current python scripts (but on the other hand those few that exisit are not maintained very well by the community as it is).

Is it possible to extend the existing scraper interpeter/engine to download and handle subtitles without too much trouble (I mean it will need to be able to handle unrar and unzip as well)?

I know that opensubtitles.org has an open API vailable to the public and the is what the opensubtitles.org script uses.
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=31499

PS! Do you mind if I at the same time bump this request for weather scrapers, which I think one could use the same API for?:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=28376
I think it would probably be ideal to use the same API/framework for subtitles as one could use to handle weather as well? Cool

Gamester17 Wrote:I like to suggest that the scraper interpreter/engine in XBMC be extended to support the weather forecast function for XBMC if possible. To scrape weather.com using a scraper XML file instead of an hardcoded function.